We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see Melbourne - again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak Melbourne

Kayak Melbourne
2 North Wharf Rd | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
+61 418 106 427
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayak Melbourne offers exceptional day and evening sightseeing tours. Guests enjoy spectacular views of Melbourne's iconic sights as they paddle through the heart of the city. Our tours are led by passionate guides who love to share insights about the city, and even include a stop along the way for fish 'n chips, a unique on-water dining experience. Kayaking on the Yarra is an incredible way to sight-see while getting a bit of fitness at the same time. It is our pleasure to show off Melbourne from a unique perspective to locals and visitors and look forward to having you along for a fun paddle soon!
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great way to see Melbourne - again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the second time we have been on this tour - our first experience was in the middle of winter. It was every bit as fantastic this time around. Kent is a great host - he just leaves you to do your thing and check out the city at your own pace. He also has some great bits of info and journey-related goss along the way. You don't have to be fit to enjoy this - I didn't have even remotely sore arms the next day. You also don't really need to have much of a technique to keep the kayak moving;) It's a stunning way to see and appreciate the city, even if (or especially if) you live in it and love it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Moonlight Kayak Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This tour was one of my favorites in Melbourne so far! Kent & Matt were extremely helpful in making everyone feel at ease during the tour, especially first-timers like myself! Seeing the city lights from the Yarra was such a unique experience and one I won't forget. After seeing the pictures & hearing about my tour, my parents have requested doing this when they come from the States. Looking forward to paddling with Kayak Melbourne again in the future.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The moon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“You must do this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I absolutely loved this. We are not adventure-bound types, and have no previous experience in kayaking. You do not need to be super fit to do this either. Very professional, very safe, VERY fun. Imagine cruising around the waters of Docklands, having fresh hot fish n chips served to you whilst floating in your Kayak and then cruising out under the Bolte Bridge before ambling into the heart of Melbourne along the Yarra! The sights, sounds, and aromas of varying restaurants, bars, and changing cityscapes along the way seduce all your senses. You just melt into a relaxed state as you marvel at the beauty of Melbourne from such an intimate perspective. Do it! Even better, surprise your loved one, and book it as a gift they will cherish forever.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentcuthbert1, Owner at Kayak Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the beautifully written review Jason! You've reminded me why I love doing these tours ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great time on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Really enjoyed my tour of Melbourne from the river. Kent is a great guide - put's you at ease from the word go and very knowledgeable of the area. The fish and chips was a great added bonus and I loved watching the fire show outside the crown complex. Definitely worth every cent

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paddle through Melbourne City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a well reccomended activity to do whilst in Melbourne. Kent is a good tour guide with lots of knowledge and experience which really adds to the tour and makes it worth while.

Many thanks for fitting us in on such short notice and the pictures Kent took the time to take and email to us were brilliant.

Thanks again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Melbourne also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayak Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.