We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Y.U.M!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar

D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar
295 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Carlton)
9347 2998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 3,963 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Carlton
Description: Ph; 03 9347 2998
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Y.U.M!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Came across D.O.C after not wanting to wait an hour elsewhere on Lygon St. We still had to wait maybe 10 minutes for a table but the atmosphere seemed good and everyone's meals looked delicious so we were patient. We ordered the truffle pizza, the rocket salad, and another pizza I can't remember now - probably because the truffle pizza was so memorable! Wine list isn't bad either. The wait staff were very attentive and friendly. Will come here again next time I am in town!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    62
    43
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Its Bellisimo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We wanted a 'Lygon St' experience whilst in Melbourne and went looking for it at D.O.C. We found what we were looking for.

We had the anti pasto platter to share. It wasnt cheap but boy was the quality superb. The prosciutto was the best I have had. The cooked smoked mozzarella was sublime. This platter was so good we went to the D.O.C deli around the corner and bought the items to take back to our hotel and enjoy again.

The pizza was quality. Thin thin crispy base, a few high quality ingredients beautifully cooked. This is what pizza should be, perfectly simple, perfectly delicious.

You got the feeling of Italy here. It was vibrant, noisy and full of plastic mafia wannabees ( by image anyway). As I said we wanted a 'Lygon St' experience and got it here.

Definately will come again. Also check out their deli, WOW.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Melbourne, love love love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I absolutely love this place- best pizza in Melbourne by far!
Definitely feel like you in Italy, the food is authentic, fresh and great variety of pizza's you can't get elsewhere!

Have not had a bad meal here! Recommend you try the antipasto's and sopressa pizza!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty antipasto and delicious home made beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The pizzas are good and the service fine. The only thing I will improve to be perfect will be the tomato sauce of the pizzas. Try the home made beer, delicious. Figs with mozzarella: the best in the antipasto

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

One of the best pizza places I have ever visited so far. Excellent selection choices. Reasonably priced. Ingredients are very fresh. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.