We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar

D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar
295 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Carlton)
9347 2998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Carlton
Description: Ph; 03 9347 2998
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Feels like Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great place, great pizza, great atmosphere and located right next to Logon St. and across the street from Brunetti's. Found it accidentally by walking past and noticing a queue of people. I now understand why they waited. No bookings are taken but our wait was not long. Our pizzas arrived after a short wait and they were the best. Just like the ones in Rome. Lovely staff....good looking blue eyed with italian accents..... Will definately go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    53
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KLumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic pizzas outside Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I am not a true lover of pizzas but those which they serve here are slowly making me a convert. Of course I will prefer them to be from DOC pizza. Although I have to join the queue to get a table for three persons, the waiters were most helpful on the two occasions I was there. The wait was not very long and the waiters keep assuring us by trying to joke with us. This ease the wait. The food were served very quickly when we got a table and placed the order (you will need some assistance on the menu as we were spoilt for choice).
The pizzas were the best I can find, being very crispy with their generous pieces of prawns and toppings. A must try of you are around that area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pizza for the aficionado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If the Italians had invented the word aficionado it would have been because they had come, they had seen and they had tried the pizze at D.O.C. and they were looking for the a word to describe those who knew where to find the best pizza in Melbourne if not the world. When coupled with excellent ambience and inspired service, you'd have to say Melbourne has done it again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fast service, soggy pizza base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

A group of us went to D.O.C for dinner. Part of the group had just ordered as we arrived, but the waiter was quick, got menus to us, and our pizzas came out with the rest.

The toppings were fresh (I had the tiger prawns), and yes the toppings are minimal, however what we really didn’t like was the soggy pizza bases - especially as the pizzas aren’t inexpensive.

Be careful as they remove your plate almost before you have finish putting the last mouthful in!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The best pizza in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have become a regular customer and obviously, it’s not difficult to become a regular at the best pizza place in Melbourne.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D.O.C. Pizza & Mozzarella Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.