We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great but service very disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Guillaume

Bistro Guillaume
8 Whiteman Street, | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Southbank)
61 3 9693 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food was great but service very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely relaxed restaurant and the food was lovely. Unfortunately our experience was let down by the lack of service. Given this is considered to be one of the premium restaurants at the Crown Complex we were very disappointed when we had to continually chase down the waitress for basic service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    124
    38
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Food and service - all excellent. We went for lunch (2 course lunch special - $45) and all four of us enjoyed it. Both the rack of lamb and Valrhona & salted caramel tart were amazing. What we also enjoyed was our waiter who was not only knowledgeable but a lot of fun and contributed to our enjoyment of the lunch. I had mentioned it was a birthday lunch, so was impressed when a happy birthday message was included on the dessert platter. Happily recommend. The only small gripe I would have is I booked for 12.30pm online and the confirmation came back as 1pm instead, even though the restaurant was half empty when we arrived.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went there for dinner tonight , didn't enjoy the onion soup as we both thought the soup were a tad too sweet. Pork belly was awesome though , unfortunately they forgot about our sides . Overall not too bad a place to go for dinner , well priced and good food :-)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

On spur of the moment, had a late supper at Bistro Guillaume, and was very glad I did - the food here is superb. My veal sweet meats were sensational, my duck confit moist and practically melt in the mouth, and even the rhubarb creamed rice (which I'm not really a fan of, and pretty much ordered by accident due to my poor French) had me converted (the syrup base was so flavoursome and moorish). Selected accompanying wines by the glass based on staff recommendations, and they did not disappoint.

It's a nice fit-out, with indoor and outdoor seating with views of the Yarra and the Crown's gas fire flames that go off every hour at night. Chairs aren't the most comfortable, but not horrendous (and obviously selected for accuracy to French bistro look). Service can be a little slow and sometimes lacking polish, but food outweighs these minor quibbles by a long shot.

Definitely worth stopping in for a meal that will impress.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great French food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent food. Service is a little slow at times, but great atmosphere and some lovely French wines. A favourite in Melbourne for me!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Guillaume also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bistro Guillaume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Guillaume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.