We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Expensive Internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location, Expensive Internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed at the Causeway 353 for 7 nights to take in a few days of the Australian Open tennis tournament.

Upon check-in we were able to get a nice non-smoking room with two seperate beds. We did indeed kind of smelt a bit of smoking odor in our room, but it was bearable.

Lobby/check-in area was modern, our room was the same, modern, but not too much crazy modern decor. A new modern HiSense LCD TV was in our room, and the furniture was not old or very dated.

Wifi was available for around $20 dollars a day, a bit pricey for such a modern world-class city, but if you need internet, what can you do but pay.

The location of this hotel was quite central, and there are plenty of shopping options within walking distance.

In the morning, just outside of the hotel, there are many small shops/cafes with different sorts of foods to eat. A pizzaria, indian food, sushi place, coffee shop just to name a few off the top of my head.

The free breakfast buffet was a nice touch, and provided basics such as a few different juices, milk to drink, coffee, some ham/meats, croissants, danish, cheeses, and toast. No eggs, bacon/sausages, if that's what you're looking for.

I would definately recommend this hotel if you're travelling from out of town and would like to be in a central part of Melbourne. Even late at night, the area around the hotel is not scary and was quite safe. There's tons of great shopping, so if you end up buying alot, the hotel is a short walk away to drop off your bags and go back out for more shopping. The hotel is about 2 blocks away from the large Flinders Street Train station. Also if you are desperate for free wifi you can walk over to Federation Square which is across the street from Flinders Street Train station and Federation Square has free wifi and a very large tourist centre, downstairs. There is a wealth of information available at the tourist center and I would definately recommend everyone to take a look and grab brouchures, maps, and train/tram maps!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    282
    112
    31
    27
See reviews for
63
243
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

My wife and I were appalled with the shocking service and negligence of this hotel.
Specific request was a non smoking room.
After a long flight we assumed that the hotel must have a bit of a smoking odour and assumed that it would settle.
Having travelled a bit it is common to be told that you are / or are not i na smoking room.
Given we stated NON SMOKING we should have been told that indeed the idiots put us in a smoking room!! Not by this mob.
I finally decided since (we are non complainers) to ask what floor was the smoking room. I almost hit the roof when they told me the floor we were on!!

To add insult they overcharged everything - and offer no apology. I really liked having the running tally of what must be the hotel saying $46758 on the bottom of a room service bill!

The best bit (appart from me being Asmatic and my Wife pregnant with our first child)... these mob of jokers then debit my credit card 9 weeks after our stay. Needless to say we are investigating our options with this and other forms.

We originaly chose this hotel because i am 6'8" and it was central but serious don't bother you can certainly do much better. It will ruin your trip like it did ours!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Standard hotel room but very new and clean, bathroom was modern and spotless, good central location in melbourne cbd. Wasnt very impressed with the breakfast - very basic continental breakfast but would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I booked this hotel specifically because of it's price and location. We wanted to be able to walk to everything, and you can from here. The reception area looks dingy, very low-budge, but the front desk help was fine. Checked in, only to find we were given an upper corner room- great, but probably the smallest king-bed room around. Definitely no view (surrounded by buildings) and tiny closet. Room was contemporary, but could use a bit of a facelift. Bed was comfortable (plus), wineglasses and real hangars (plus), room took quite a while to cool down (minus, considering it was in the 30's out). Continental breakfast was included- seemingly store bought pastries, toast and drinks. Not exciting or very good. The "gym" (I love when they call it that) was a room converted to squeeze in some equipment- up side was it was cool, had fresh towels, and a tv. Internet was $2 for 15 minutes or $10 per hour. Not a deal. Overall, an ok hotel, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We booked a $155 "summer special" and stayed for 1 night whilst watching the Aussie Open tennis. At this price I thought the hotel was excellent.
The room: good sized - enough for an armchair too, clean, flatscreen tv, comftable king-sized bed, decent sized bathroom. Only downside was a rubbish view out the window of another building (only negative I could think of!)
The hotel: reception was professional and helpful; breakfast was pretty average (get there before 10am for a better selection - we slept in due to the late finish of the tennis) and no natural light in the breakfast area; security seemed to be good.
Location: I thought was excellent as is very central, and as it is on a back street it is very quiet. For us that is a big positive, but nervous travellers may be put off by this - all the main streets will have more lighting and people, but will be noisier as a result. I'd rather have the quiet night's sleep...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed at the Causeway 353 for 8 nights in January. This is a nice, modern facility in the heart of downtown Melbourne. Perfect location within the city - walking distance to Botanical Gardens, train and tram stations, loads of restaurants and shops. We had a basic room which was small, but nice and quiet at night. The hotel was very busy when we were there, but we heard very little noise in the halls or from any other rooms. No traffic noise from outside either. The staff was very helpful. Free continental breakfast every morning with water in the rooms. I would highly recommend this place - not fancy but for the price and the minimal time we spent in the hotel room, it was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel is nestled away down an alley/laneway close to the river and some of the major attractions in Melbourne. A short walk away you'll find Federation Square, Southgate, Crown Casino, and a number of restaurants. If you take the Skybus from the airport into town, the Skybus hotel transfer will drop you off just a few steps away from the hotel.

The room was nice with a safe, microwave (a bit odd we thought!) and complimentary bottled water. It became very dark at night which made it easy to sleep. The door to our room seemed excessively heavy but we didn't bother telling anyone about it.

Reception were helpful and answered our questions about the local area such as nearby restaurants, car parks, etc. The breakfast was a standard buffet - nothing exciting but no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm décor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Contintenal buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30a.m. to 10.30a.m. in the in-house breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.