We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fantastic comfortable rooms, great location but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely fantastic comfortable rooms, great location but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed in a spa room and it was an amazing room - just the two of us. Very spacious, the bed was so comfortable!, bathroom was great and the hotel facilities were great and the hotel very clean. Location was fantastic too - right in the city.
The only downfall was the window in the room looked out onto the window of a busines building, we were given the wrong room at the start and had to cart our luggage back downstairs to fix the mistake; we went to breakfast in the morning half an hour before it was to end and they had already stopped serving hot food which was very disappointing, and when we first arrived we were greeted by a male and female reception staff - the male was friendly however the female was very rude and impolite and did not even apologise for the mistake of the stuff up with the rooms - just acted like it was our fault. Also there are three causeway hotels so make sure you know which one you staying in. However very comfortable and lovely hotel, the room was a definite highlight which is what your there for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    253
    101
    24
    25
See reviews for
59
223
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

- stylish, comfortable, good sized bedroom and bathroom
- superb contintental breakfast (with option to pay extra for cooked breakfast)
- helpful reception staff
- excellent value for money
- over priced restaurant (but city is full of other places to eat)
- difficult to find due to location on small back street

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The room i had was kind of stuffy and the windows go out to a building, so you are looking into some offices. The breakfast downstairs was in a basement, kind of depressing. The shower was weird, it had no real door and the water was running out to the rest of the bathroom. I think for the money they charge there are better places to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Similar to other Causeway hotels, this hotel is tucked away in a little lane at Equitable Place on Little Collins St. Overall, the ambience was nice and cosy. Rooms have a modern design with relatively new furnishings. Not much of a view from the windows though as it was facing another concrete building. Toilet was clean and rather spacious unlike its sister hotel Causeway Inn on the Mall. Breakfast was standard and simple. Best part: central location which makes touring the city a breeze!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at the Causeway 353 hotel for 2 nights in November and could not wait to leave. When we attempted to check-in there was no record of our reservation even though we had booked 2 months prior on the hotel's website. There were two attendants at the desk (male and female). The male attendant acted as if we were lying about our reservations until we provided proof (a printout showing that we had indeed booked). The female seemed nice but was nervous and never looked us or her coworker directly in the eye. Once we were assigned a room, it was a smoking room. Since I have difficulty breathing we requested another room. The male attendant stated there were no more regular twin rooms but stated he would "upgrade" us to a triple room. I asked if we could get a double room with a bathtub instead since we were only a party of 2. We didn't need a third bed. However he reiterated strongly that we were getting the triple room. We should have turned around and left right then.

Once we entered our triple room it was spacious and decorated nicely. However, the shower in the bathroom kept flooding since there was nothing to contain the water. We had to keep placing towels on the floor to stop it from entering the bedroom. Early the next morning we left at 7:30 am for a tour but came back at 1 pm to discover that housecleaning still had not cleaned our room. We inquired at the front desk if our room would get cleaned and the current attendant stared at us like we had lost our minds and stated all of the rooms get cleaned. We advised her of our prior trouble with obtaining the room and only then did she understand why we had asked her that. To her credit, she did make sure our room got cleaned by the time we returned later that day (past 5 pm). On both days of our stay no free newspaper was provided for our room in the mornings even though other rooms on the floor had papers in front of their doors. This was easily rectified though as there were newspapers stashed in the lobby.

The only good things about our stay were that the hotel provides a free Melbourne City Tour (if you remind them about it) and the hotel is located in an alley that has lots of great places to eat. The city tour was operated by a real tour company (AAT kings) and was a half day drive around Melbourne which was pretty nice. Also the hotel itself looks very good inside and the restaurant is very with a free continental breakfast.

However the negative and/or nonchalant attitudes of the staff and management made this hotel a horrible place for us to stay and we were glad to check out. It's really a shame because the hotel itself was well kept-up.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Although I live in Melbourne, I wanted a city hotel for a little comfort and convenience on new years eve. Any complaints I have are minor and overall I could not have been happier with the Causeway 353. The location is amazing...especially for those who are planning to shop. When I arrived I was greeted by friendly and efficient staff, who happily met my request for a late checkout, which I was not really expecting on New Years when everybody else probably wanted the same thing. The room was basic but exceptionally clean and functional. It was quite open and bright, but the curtains were very efficient at keeping the room dark well into the morning for my sleep-in. I had a spa suite, which was very comfortable, although I was expecting the spa to be bigger based on other reviews. It didn't really matter as I was alone on this trip, but it would be very cosy for a couple unless they were both tiny. It was very deep and comfortable nonetheless. I found the mattress very comfortable, even though I generally prefer a softer mattress. The only issues I had, were getting the room key to work in the elevator to my floor, there seems to be a trick to it which I didn't get...but repeated pushing of the button and entering of the card eventually got me there each time.
The only other issue was the fire alarm/evacuation at about 6.30 pm, but this was probably caused by another guest rather than being the hotels fault. Overall I was very happy with the hotel and would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld. Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

First time we have stayed at Causeway 353, we had previously stayed at The Causeway Inn and was so impressed we wanted to try all the Causeways, we were down in Melbourne again in August for a close friends funeral but we couldn't book into 353 they were fully booked so we went back to The Causeway Inn.
Staff very friendly, clean room, great buffet breakfast, great locations, absolutely love Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm décor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Contintenal buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30a.m. to 10.30a.m. in the in-house breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.