We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mandurah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Couldn't fault the location, the hotel is close to everything Melbourne"s CBD has to offer. We found all the staff to be welcoming & helpful. We had a deluxe room and found it to be clean and reasonably priced. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet even though it was overlooking the main street.
Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    283
    112
    31
    27
See reviews for
64
244
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Perfect perfect perfect location in central Melbourne, located within the laneways area - room on the smaller side but well appointed - we had a king room which was comfortable and more importantly quiet, tea & coffee making facilities, iron and safe supplied.
Staff were friendly helpful and provided great suggestions when asked about restaurants to recommend and routes to get places, were also able to remember what they had suggested the next day and followed up with asking us what we thought of the suggestions, which given the amount of guests I thought was attentive and displayed good training in hospitality.
Parking was subsidised in a nearby parking building which kept costs reasonable and a Complimentary continental breaksfast wasa bonus for early departures and facing a long wait at the airport.
The only suggestion I would make is that the tiles in the shower need a good mould removal for the grout.
Would definitely stay again and look forward to doing so soon, excellent stay and strongly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed four nights at the 353 Causeway last weekend. Well located and easy to find. After getting the Skybus in from the airport we walked there in about 20 minutes. Arrived early morning and staff really accommodating storing luggage until we could get into our room. Room had everything we needed, continental breakfast was just right, really nice pastries in particular. Staff always pleasant and helpful when asking for assistance. Will definitely stay again. Value for money and so close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before & will definitely stay again in the future.. the hotel is clean, conveniently located & the staff are fantastic, always happy to help & always have a smile. Great place to stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms I have stayed in don't have a view but then again im not there to look out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

In a different setting the white, grey, black colour scheme might have been sharp. But in a smallish room without a view, or even much natural light, it was depressing. Grey curtains, really?

The continental breakfast was pretty ordinary.

Room Tip: Maybe the light is better in rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at Causeway 353 and was mostly attracted to the price ($139 per night including continental breakfast) and location (literally a stone's throw from the hub of the city ~ Swanston Street). It is down a little alleyway (Equitable Place) off Little Collins street so can look a bit seedy late at night.

Reception staff were friendly enough on arrival but didn't speak a word to us until we left (despite the lift exiting right opposite the check in desk).

Rooms are reasonably sized - the king size bed fills up most of the room. Unfortunately we didn't have a comfortable night's sleep though. I'm not usually too fussy with hotel beds (anything must be better than mine at home) but the pillows were the worst I've ever come across EVER - I wouldn't have them in my guest room let alone at a paying hotel! Lumpy, small, thin and stained... My partner got a stiff neck after the first night. Secondly because the bed is two singles pushed together (poorly) and covered with just a sheet - try not to fall down the gap.

Bathroom was alright, it had a bath which was nice but the shower head was very focussed and sprayed water all over the floor. Reasonably priced mini-bar and TV as well. Sadly no free wifi and also no view (not that we are expecting it but just a heads up). You are looking straight into the office building next door ~ 10m away so we kept the curtains shut.

Lastly, we found the continental breakfast really convenient, it's well displayed and whilst it's simple (cereals, juices, tea and coffee, toast, danishes, croissants and three types of fruit and yogurt) it did the job for us and saved us hunting for breakfast places each morning.

All in all - you get what you pay for, so for a young couple on a budget who wanted to be close to the action it does the job, but if you'd like something a bit more special - I'd spend the extra $30 or so and stay somewhere else. I probably wouldn't stay here again but if you need somewhere for a night or two when coming down for a show - it would probably do the job.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The grout in the shower was all mouldy. I mentioned it to the front desk and next day some had been wiped off but it was still there in other places and given that one needs to kill the spores not wipe them I would expect regrowth in no time. Blue vein cheese in your tile grout - come and get it.

Bed linen was not big enough to tuck in so it would up sliding all over the place. Telephone did not work. Pillows were too thin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm décor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Contintenal buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30a.m. to 10.30a.m. in the in-house breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.