We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money in cbd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“value for money in cbd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a fairly budget type motel in inner Melbourne. Location is great, close to everything. Deluxe king room was basic but enough for few nights, bed very comfortable, room clean. No city noise on higher level. Perfect if u just want place to sleep after busy days in city. Breakfast basic but adequate for quick bite to start day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    321
    120
    39
    30
See reviews for
71
280
45
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My cousin and myself stayed 2 nights in Causeway 353 Hotel in a deluxe twin room, breakfast included, and paid $270 altogether.

I was slightly worried before I go because the price was too cheap comparing to other hotels in similar locations. So I was delighted to find I did not come across any problems that other guests have had. The pillows were fine, not lumpy or flat. There was no remote control for air con but the temperature was kept nice and cool at all times. The room was simple and clean and I did not find it looking tired or old. I find it interesting that they provide a microwave in the room too.Yes, the breakfast buffet was rather plain and limited, but it was substaintial enough for tourists who just want to grab a bite then get going on their busy journey. Besides, it was already included in the $67.60 that we paid per person per night. Really good value. But of course, if you are looking forward to laneway cafe style breakfast, head outside and there are cafes at every corner from the hotel.

Front desk staff were attentive and helpful whether during check-in, booking airport shuttle for us even though we changed the pick up time twice, and helping us with their tricky elevator. Overall I was very impressed with the value and service from Causeway 353 hotel, and would recommend to any traveller who wants a hotel that is simple, convenient, functional and not overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

A friend and l stayed for 4 nights in this centrally located Hotel... Great little lane way cafés nearby. Friendly receptionists, only an average continental breakfast available, room a bit tired, TV not working so we choose to relocate rooms which was a little inconvenient. Would probably stay elsewhere next visit to Melbourne CBD.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was a highly recommended hotel. However not that nice. Flat sheets no fitted, Aircon not working (temp sets itself to higher) , really average breakfast,no milk for a cup of tea. TV reception terrible. The only nice thing was the staff were lovely and kind.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here on business a few times. Good location in the heart of the CBD close to Southbank, Fed Sq etc. Cheaper rate parking in underground car par at Galleria. Small rooms but OK for 1 night stay, OK value at $129 online. However, no free internet for guests - why can I travel all over Asia in cheaper hotel and get free internet and in Australia you generally have to pay for it. Didn't have breakfast, lots of café options in Galleria and outside in Little Collins Street.

Room Tip: Twin felt a bit pokey, no doubles/queen/kings available when I booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location, rooms are clean, functional, a little tired looking, handy gym and great steam room. On arrival customer service on front desk was terrible, no welcome just processing. I asked where the shops were and was told all around me, I said yes but where's the main part I was told 'your in it' I said please I'm asking you where the main shop area is the lady said which shop. I said don't worry about it I'll google it :-(( seriously couldn't be bothered to do anything more than check us in.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Was absolutely disappointing on all levels! Staff not friendly. Small dark dingy rooms. Definitely not four star. Breakfast was bad. Not even a movie channel in those grey cells they call rooms. Didn't receive our newspaper in the mornings. Way over priced for what we got. Never stay there again & would never recommend it to others!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. To 10.30A.M. With both continental and hot breakfast options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.