We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Central location, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here Friday to Monday. Found the room clean and tidy. (We had a deluxe king room). Our room had all we needed, bath with shower over. Good shower pressure. The continental breakfast provided had a nice selection of pastries, cereals, fruit and toast along with some cold meats. We enjoyed it. Location is good, a short walk to everything, trams nearby anyway. Our room was clean, exceptionally quiet and comfortable. We'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    321
    119
    39
    29
See reviews for
71
279
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingaroy, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Causeway 353 hotel is in a great location, very clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent way to start our day. Staff were all helpful in giving us directions and assistant us with all our needs. The only thing I hated about our stay was that the bedding was to small for the bed, which would'nt bother me but reading other reviews they complained about the same thing and still the hotel hasn't corrected the problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here because of its proximity to our Melbourne office, booked by work. It is hidden in an alley way off Collins St opposite the Elizabeth St tram stop so is very central. The room was clean and had room to move. It seemed to provide the bare minimum to qualify for the star rating, there are no frills. Buffet only breakfast was adequate at best. There are better options across the alley. The reviewers without a view did not miss much. On the plus side the room was perfectly quiet. Wifi was not offered though I didn't ask. My advice to the company is ok for employees flying in, not suitable for clients. Taxi drivers may have trouble finding it and would need to reverse out. There is an arrangement for parking nearby for $20 per exit. I would use it again if work was paying, I wouldn't choose it as a base.

Room Tip: Corner room may have been a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently spent five nights at Causeway 353. Upon arrival, staff were courteous, helpful and knowledgable.

The first thing I loved about this hotel was its location. It's in the centre of Melbourne city but tucked away from night time street noise. Although there were others staying on our floor, the only noise I heard was the occasional door closing.

The (twin) beds were comforatable but the pillows too flat, even when using two. The shower and bath were great. The continental breakfast was standard and did the job. The woman at the breakfast check-in was friendly. Staff confirmed our bus transfer to the airport for us and stored our bags while we spent our last day wandering the city until bus transfer time. We were able to use the business centre (three computers and a printer in a room on Level 2) to print our boarding passes - internet was $2 for 15 minutes and printing was free. There is no free wi-fi in this hotel but you can find it in places like Hudson's (just around the corner on Elizabeth Street).

I only have two (small) issues with this hotel:
1. As no windows could be opened, we had no way of getting fresh air in the room. At one stage someone in another room was smoking weed and the smell wafted in through the vents to our room.
2. The (Hisense) television provided a really poor picture. We didn't go to Melbourne to watch TV, so this wasn't a major issue for us. Had it been, we simply would have asked for another room.

Causeway 353 is a great place to base yourself when travelling around Melbourne's CBD. It is only a block or two away from a Coles supermarket, a Hudson's coffee shop, numerous eateries, the free city tram, Flinders Street station, Burke Street Mall, Federation Square, and the Yarra River. Our five days of sight-seeing were all done by either walking or hopping on the free tram.

I would stay at Causeway 353 again.

Room Tip: The Crown Casino has excellent meal deals in six of its restaurants - definitely worth the walk acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City N.Z.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of a "special" What a glum experience. We were upgraded to a so-called suite. This room had no windows, was furnished entirely in brown, to say it lacked character was an understatement. The basement breakfast area was another "treat" So poorly lit, you couldn't even read the newspaper. Staff were minimal and disinterested. The whole place had an air of abandonment. Extremely unwelcoming. Sure, it was conveniently located and the bed was comfortable. Having said that, there's nothing more to be said in 353's favor. Never again Ambience rating - nil.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found the staff extremely rude and unprofessional - and this was just at the front desk.

The shower had mould everywhere and the" breakfast included" was a joke - toast, salami and plastic cheese or yoghurt... (which they valued at $35). Be warned they throw you out exactly at 10am and threaten extra charges if you're running late. Really for the money I did expect a little more. The very "best part" of the experience was - having rushed to make their checkout deadline and then having to stand in line with everyone else checking out for 40mins - I realised I had left something in the room. They refused to let me go back to look for it... got disgruntled when I insisted they look, then couldn't find it. Honestly, utter crap experience from the get-go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just spent three nights at this hotel from 4th to 7th October and was not impressed at all. The staff in the restuarant were completely ignorant and were never happy. The restuarant for lunch and dinner was never open, and the sidewalk cafes that is suppose to be an attraction are not open on the weekends at all. (not that this is the hotels fault, but don't advertise them in the first place) The mattress was fine but the pillows were just too soft and low and ended up with neck pain. The sugar was never replaced to make coffee. We were told we would have complimentary slippers and bathrobe. The bathrobe was non existent. If this is a four star hotel, I would hate to see what they call a five star. Very disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. To 10.30A.M. With both continental and hot breakfast options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.