We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location and price of this hotel won me over and I was surprised and pleased by the modern, classy hotel I arrived at. We had lots of family visiting Melbourne for a birthday and as I'd organised the hotel, I was really glad that it met everyone's varied expectations. The only improvement would have been if I got a spa room which some others in my party did! Jealous!!! Thanks for the clean and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    321
    120
    39
    30
See reviews for
71
280
45
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The City of Melbourne is agreat City where four NZ friends meet at this "hidden gem" in the heart of Melbourne in Mid May ...4 delightful days with all attractions only minutes away, Art Gallery, Victoria Markets, Flinders Station, SHOPS...cafes and restaurants..and yes Melbourne"s Colional Tram dinner delight out to St.Kidas and back...Casino for a look see the list goes on ... Rooms where very clean and adequate for our short stay which will be longer next time.....Being so central meant that dinner choices where at our finger tips , continetal breakfast was adequate for our mornings start ...exploring all the above and a lot more ...a great starting point out of town for the 5 day Great Ocean Road trip through to Adelaide however that is another story to be told at another point in time AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGGGG.

Room Tip: Not to high we used the stairs on occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was the second time we've stayed here and it was not as good as our first experience. The bathroom light was super dim and the bed was not as comfortable with lumpy, uncomfortable pillows. The staff were however, helpful and accommodating. This hotel is great for its location but not so much for its room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed there with a friend for a week last year and got attacked by bedbugs! When we reported it to the health department they said it was one of the worst infestations they had ever seen.
Staff were rude and lacked enthusiasm. When we asked for compensation for our nightmare of a stay they made it extremely difficult and even tried to rip us off!
Avoid avoid avoid!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was time for our annual footy trip to Melb and again decided to stay at the Causeway. Staff on our arrival were friendly and our room was ready at 1pm. The breakfast menu has greatly improved, since our last stay. The twin room we were in was clean/quiet and always serviced by the time we returned from our days travels. This is the best hotel for location to both Etihad and MCG as well as the tourist areas in the CBD. We also discovered an Indian restaurant the "Spice room" which is located near the little Collins end of the lane way. The restaurant from the outside looks like something you would find in the back lane ways of Phuket, it is well worth going to for a very tasty cheap meal. If you want a clean quiet hotel close to all the attractions this is the place to go. We will be coming back, next year. Go the Dockers.

Room Tip: All rooms stayed in have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a great little hotel right in the heart of Melbourne in very comfortable walking distance to just about everything. But be realistic, it is what it is. Clearly, it's not a place for a honeymoon, an indulgent get-away or an elaborate romantic weekend but if you're looking for a basic place to stay with the emphasis on getting out and about or just overnighting, this is perfect. But you've got to love it warts and all. Sure, I agree it's annoying that you can't open the windows (but you can't in the Hyatt either) and it's more than apparent that the staff, whilst synthetically pleasant, have all been to 'ambivalent school'. Service is either slow, confused or non-existent but somehow always pleasant. Ok, the rooms are pretty ordinary, if not attractively daggy, but in all of my stays they have always been clean and tidy. To be fair, this hotel has never purported to be 5 star and after all you're not paying 5 star prices either despite the prime location. So if you're prepared to be self supportive, go with the flow and have no expectations other than having a great time in Melbourne on a limited accommodation budget you'll love this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

low flow in shower, could not open a window to allow fresh air, asked night staff for a room service menu to order food and told me no go out to a resturant on the street, also asked the night staff where chapel st was and said there was many and then just threw a map in my direction and proceeded to continue doing what he was doing. no robes first night then asked and got robes then room serivce took one to clean i assume and left one , then the next day took that one and didnt give another one so ended up with no robes .didnt change towels everyday. the toilet roll dispenser is in the worst spot possible it is on the left and to the back which is just down right stupid as we are accustomed to having it on the right and and in front of us.shampoo and conditioner were not given to us everyday. the fridge was jammed full of crap so no room for anything we intended to put in there,bedding was not changed daily , house keeping came at stupid times to clean room,resturant was only open for breakfast , free continental breakfast? the array of food was disgusting sweaty peices of cheese and ham kids packets of cereal,baby crossiants and bread you had to toast yourself, only rock,watermelon and honey dew for fruit some dodgy cups of yoghurt and a crap array of coffee and cups totally disappointed with my stay will not be recommending this hotel to any one especially for the price we paid and the fact you claim to be four star hotel ...

Room Tip: dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. To 10.30A.M. With both continental and hot breakfast options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.