We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Kaitaia, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although the location was great we had to sleep on a "king" bed which was actually two single beds pushed together, the sheets and mattress protector didn't fit the bed which made it very uncomfortable. The service was very hit and miss, when we checked in the lady was quite rude. The room only had the most basic of cleaning done during our two day stay-the bathmat was replaced and the dishes washed but nothing else was touched.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    366
    132
    43
    31
See reviews for
85
311
51
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great trip, up until the end where the hotel lost my luggage. Not sure why they have baggage tags and not check them when guests collect their bags. I eventually got my bag, four days later. Was frustrated with the lack of care that the staff showed. Staff were non committal when questioned with how they were going to deal with the situation. Would not stay there again. Would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself & a friend had a twin room. Was spacious enough, the bathroom is large with a big mirror & large mirrored wardrobe. Ample space for our 2 cases and shopping. Room was serviced after 3ish most days (that we ate aware of with our comings and goings). Staff at front counter friendly enough & happy to help & answer questions. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is my regular stop for business in Melbourne. It's conveniently located, check in is straight forward, it's quiet and the bed is comfortable. The newspaper in the morning is a nice perk, and usually breakfast is included in the price. It's a fairly basic breakfast but it does the trick (croissants, cereal, meats/cheese etc). The hotel is located amongst a strip of cafes so other breakfast options are available, and dinner options are nearby as well. There is a gym at the hotel too, which is sufficient for a good workout - new treadmills and basic weights equipment. The biggest draw for me is that it is usually priced right. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Only a block away from Swanston St, Melbourne's main thoroughfare is the quaint Causeway Hotel. Entered by a laneway inhabited by boutique shops it is a great place to use as a base for exploring the city by foot. We liked the little extra touches like bath robes, slippers, complimentary chocolates and fruit provided. The car parking is not so convenient being a block away to the nearest one but if you can leave your car overnight, the Russell St Park is the cheapest option at only $6.50 if parking after 5.00pm

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rooms excellent, quiet, and clean.
Parking annoying and breakfast very basic but when in Melbourne who cares with numerous coffee places on the Doorstep !
I would highly recommend as great value. For those who enjoy a room that can be made very dark for a sleep in this one is great compared to others in the CBD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here on the recent Lions tour, wouldn't hesitate to stay again!! Excellent location, everything was within comfortable walking distance. Rooms were clean and tidy, serviced daily. Bed was really comfortable. Was surprised at how quiet it was considering we were right in the middle of the city. Didn't even hear other hotel guests. Breakfast was really good, great selection and a great way to start the day. The lads thought it may have been better if there was the option of purchasing hot food, but there are a heap of cafes really close by if that's more your thing. Staff were more than helpful the odd time we needed to ask them for anything. Would recommend to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. To 10.30A.M. With both continental and hot breakfast options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.