We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location in CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Location in CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with wife and were very happy, the rooms are ok not huge and were cleaned every day.
Fantastic cafes in laneway and across road.
Got a great deal online and will stay here again when I need to be in melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    357
    129
    42
    31
See reviews for
83
304
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at Hotel 353 while away on business. The staff were nothing but friendly to me during my stay - I always received a friendly greeting upon passing the front desk. My room was cleaning immaculately everyday. The hotel is located very centrally - and on weekdays you can grab beautiful coffee (and a fancier breakfast) by literally stepping outside. The breakfast offered is also sufficient - offering cereal, fresh and yummy fruit, croissants, and a selection of toasts with cheese and cold meats.
I will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked room six month in advance for a triple room with three single beds. Got there and they said they upgraded us to a premier room what a joke. We got two singles and a fold out couch that felt like you were sleeping on a board. I had my elderly mother with me and she couldn't get in and out of the bath for a shower which is why I booked the other room. Staff at front counter was nice but all she could say was I am only reception staff. Dirty pillow slips which were replaced but going to have a shower and unfolded the towls to find dirty marks was gross. Filled out form in morning but I would never go there again. Could not adjust air con breakfast basic but what I would expect for for light breaky. Best thing was the location centre of CBD and easy to find and close to where we needed to go with older person who can't walk long way. Over all NO AGAIN

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during the tennis open and found it a reasonable hotel. A great location, in a cool pedestrian lane with lots of cafes. Found to service excellent and the breakfast was fine. Rooms typical size and condition. Started to feel cramped and lacking sunlight by the end of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed 4 night in a king room at the 8th floor. Fairly basic city hotel, darkish and a bit worn out rooms and not so great A/C, but perfect location, adequate breakfast and ok service. Only downfall was stained bed liners (maybe we got the same one's than some of the previous reviewers did, lol): I really do not understand why the cleaners did not even turn the sheet upside down, but mad the bed every day so that the obviously "femine-origin" stain was right at the most visible spot. But that's all to complain really, and I do not agree with some of the previous reviews saying the breakfast room was "cavey" or alleyway shabby - maybe that's true during the weekends, but from Mon-Fri it's full of small restaurants serving lunch & outdoor seating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Upon arrival we were barely acknowledged as the (1) trainee staff member on the front desk fluttered around trying to assist another client with coins to the laundry for about 15 mins. The hotel is musty and smells of smoke with old cheap decor, dark gloomy rooms and dingy breakfast area. Cheap soft pillows on the beds which were two singles stuck together to make a king and the sheets didn't fit. One pillow on the bed had brown stains on it and when I gave it to house keeping I was given no apology. On the second day our room was not cleaned even though house keeping assured us it was.. but a soap line on the tub and wet towels on the floor does mean it hasn't been cleaned. Our fridge was also not restocked with all blame being allocated to the 'morning staff' and afternoon staff couldn't do anything about it. After this we made the decision to leave a day early and check into a 'nicer' hotel. Upon check out the 'caring' hotel staff did not even ask why. I do not recommend this hotel :(

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed there May 2012 and had no difficulty in finding our way there. Staff were formal and efficient but not what I would consider friendly. Room was dark and damp with noisy air conditioning. Breakfast was just fine with a good selection of basic foods and serials. The best part of this hotel though its its location which is in the heart of central Melbourne. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner room was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#92 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
0.2 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. To 10.30A.M. With both continental and hot breakfast options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.