We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway 353 Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Eaglehawk Neck, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Tucked in an alley in Melbourne's CBD central, between Collins and Little Collins Streets, the Causeway 353 is surrounded by oodles of vibrant ethnic cafes and coffee shops and mile after foot aching mile of shopping malls. Our receptionists were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, unusual for a low cost city hotel these days, but it was the room which surprised us the most. Firstly, it was very clean and the fixtures and scheme were tasteful. Robes, slippers and safe were provided along with a wide screen LCD with Fox. The bed was spacious (although a bit saggy) and the bathroom was well appointed and modern. This hotel doesn't pretend to be five star, but our satisfaction level was at least a four.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    307
    117
    37
    29
See reviews for
66
267
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Spent 2 nights in the hotel with breakfast included. The room was furnished quite simply but the bed was comfortable . There is no cable TV available . The breakfast is very basic so if you can get a deal without the breakfast go for it. The location is fantastic though the location of the hotel is in a little lane off Little Collins .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway-Melbourne, General Manager at Causeway 353 Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Good morning Ellie,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Causeway 353 Hotel. We do have limited cable TV options available through Foxtel at Causeway 353 Hotel.
Good to see you enjoyed the central location and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Paul Koenig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked through the American Express travel web site and obviously booked the wrong type of room. We were given a tiny twin room with one small window..very clean but as we were going to stay for 3 nights I felt very dissapointed with our choice. The airconditioning was also set too high and could not be changed. I spoke to Loretta the duty manager and explained our problem, she changed our room to a "deluxe" which is what I thought we had originally booked and she had the airconditioning in the room fixed immediately.
The room we had was 770 at the end of the building, very roomy, immaculate condition a reasonable size bathroom. Our stay in Melbourne was wonderful and I would definitely recommend this type of room. It was also a very quiet room with excellent black out curtains.The position of the hotel is fabulous and if you are like my daughter and I and want get rid of bags of shopping, it is situated right in the centre of the shopping precinct.
The continental breakfast (cereals, pasteries, variety of bread, fruit, yogart, juices, tea and coffee)is included in the price and was always well stocked. I would definitely stay at Causeway 353 again but in the "70" rooms.

Room Tip: Book deluxe rooms only and confirm that they are the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

my wife and i stayed here for a week and we found that the cleaning staff were a bit slack, i think the bed sheets were only changed once and the bed was only pulled up every day. During that week the place was only vacumed once and they never cleaned the toilet and wash basin for two days.The location of the hotel was fab right in the middle of the cbd every thing at your fingertips.Breakfasts were simple but good , front desk staff were helpfull and friendly .Getting a bit tired and needs a coat of paint.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

when I checked in I requested a room with the most sunny exposure and I was advised that due to the position of the building most windows overlook a wall and that all rooms were therefore similar. when I checked into the room I found that my window was tiniest in the whole floor and this was meant to be a deluxe room. when I asked to move to a different room I was told that the hotel is fully booked (typical excuse). not happy with the check in so far. but room is clean and well stocked and location is best.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of Melbourne's CBD. However it was very difficult for our taxi driver to find. There is no entrance onto the street as it is down a narrow lane. By the time we reached the hotel entrance we were sodden from the heavy Melbourne downpour.
We are both elderly and no offer was made to help with our baggage. After our stay I did send in a complaint to the management and received an apology.
The small crowded bedroom with king size bed was as comfortable as could be expected. Hot water, a bath and a strong shower were welcome. This is a comfort that is often lacking even in expensive hotels.
Over all the hotel suited our purpose which was to be in the centre of Melbourne. We felt that the staff could have been trained to be more polite and obliging. It seems that one has to visit Asia to be treated with respect. When will Australian hoteliers learn that their clients like to be spoilt, even a little, on a holiday?

Room Tip: don't expect too much. The locality and the price are the selling points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My friends and I travelled to Melbourne for the Melbourne Cup and Crown Oaks race days. There was four of us with two rooms and two single beds. We didn't spend much time in the rooms but they were always cleaned well and a pastry and glass of milk for breakfast was all that we needed after a big night. One criticism is that they were always busy at the front desk and it took about an hour to check in and another 20min to pay for the mini bar on the last day. It has a great location with everything reasonably close. Take a train if you are going to Flemington as the taxis did take a while.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm décor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Contintenal buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30a.m. to 10.30a.m. in the in-house breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway 353 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.