We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Um it's a train station?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Railway Station

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Windsor Railway Station
Peel St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 160 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Windsor Railway Station Complex includes station buildings and a footbridge. It was constructed in 1885-86 of polychromatic brick, and features paired round arched windows, a truncated hip roof, eaves consoles and prominent chimney stacks. A capped brick wall and a footbridge supported on cast iron columns with decorative brackets are also part of this substantial railway complex.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Um it's a train station?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I don't get why beaches and train stations are on here, but hey I live here and it's a TRAIN STATION lol!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“It's a railway station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This popped up on a list of attractions on tripadvisor, so I'm reviewing it. But, it's just a railway station. There is a heritage listed building there, but you can only see the outside and it's not much to look at. As for its appeal as a station, it's about the same as all of the rest and I wouldn't recommend making a special trip to see it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best visited during heavy rain!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Windsor station is in a great location and provides easy access to Chapel St and the Prahran shopping precinct - also the route 78 & 79 trams. It is a heritage-listed station and attracted considerable media attention with spectacular flooding in February and April 2011.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Its a train station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have often caught the train from here.

Trains have usually been late, dirty and stinky.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just a train station”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

I live and work near the Windsor train station and use it every day. It never crossed my mind that it is something worth seeing by tourists. This is a small outside station rather than a major closed station. It might be special for Melbourne but it looks the same as all the little train stations across the UK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Railway Station also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Windsor Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Railway Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.