We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Around Was Just As Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Spice Road

Red Spice Road
27 McKillop Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9603 1601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Perth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around Was Just As Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was the 2nd time we went to Red Spice Road and it was just as good.

The pork belly was excellent and I would have it every night if I could.
The rabbit stir fry, goat curry and shredded chicken salad were also hits. The beef cheeks were good but not as much as a hit.

They have changed the lighting so it is brighter now. The last time we went it was so dark that you had to use your mobile phone to read the menu.

Burma Lane is a sister restaurant and I probably prefer that to Red Spice Road (but only slightly). Nevertheless Red Spice is a favourite of mine and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    146
    43
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The wait staff were rude, no explanation of dishes, ribs were cold and overall the experience was a disappointment. Don't go out of your way for this over-rated restaurant. There are plenty of other great places.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Went out after work with colleagues/friends with no expectations. Wow. The food was amazing! Chose not to do the banquette, instead we each ordered and shared a dish. In hindsight, as each dish was so well constructed, would like to taste every dish on the menu. (Hope you know what I mean..) Now feel like I've probably missed eating a very special dish. Oh well, good reason to go back again (and again).

Like the long, shared table arrangement. Big, beautiful, cheeky artwork adds to the atmosphere. Great wine list. We tried quite a few reds, none disappointed.

Excellent, reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Bellarine, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

great food, expensive drinks- dislike the tables….. happy enough to eat like that but not in such pricey place

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Surroundings - slow service and portions on the small side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I visited Red Spice Road with a group of people for a business dinner.
The dining room is on 2 levels with the upper level set out with very long rows of tables.
We had a selection of starters and all were very good but on the small side.
We were told the mains were very big and made for sharing which turned out to be misleading.
We ordered a range of desserts which were all very good especially the coffee mousse type desert with caramel and chocolate coated popcorn.
The service staff are all very friendly but the service is extremely slow (even though the restaurant was quite empty) and the food is very expensive for the size of the portions.
Not a place to go if you are expecting to go home feeling full.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Spice Road also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Red Spice Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Spice Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.