We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Spice Road

Red Spice Road
27 McKillop Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
+61 3 9603 1601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 4,196 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

first visit to this novel restaurant with great atmosphere which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. The menu was enticing and the food lived up to expectations - well presented on a timely basis and full of flavors. The wine listed also contained some interesting selections, well beyond the standard. Oh and the service was friendly, efficient and helpful. Pricing was on the market and overall RSB is recommended for a further visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    137
    39
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic in every way. Atmosphere is fun with communal dining setting. Some people wouldn't enjoy this if they were after a more intimate dinner, but we found it great. Large tables which would be fantastic for a big group.
I ordered the pork belly and it was the best be ever had. Delicious and moist meat covered in a tasty crisp crackling. The tasty rich sauce was perfect, and the portion size was very generous for the $32 price tag.
Great service. We were well looked after and the waitress gave us her preferences from the menu and even warned us when she thought we were ordering too much food.
The cheapest bottle of wine was around $55, but I do believe that on Mondays they may be BYO.

Overall, a great experience and we will surely be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place has a great atmosphere (although pretty loud, so if you don't like that kind of thing, give it a miss), with delicious, plentiful food that's fresh and served with a smile. I was very impressed with the staff and the prices are on the upper scale of fair for what you get and the beautiful restaurant you're in. Treat yourself to a cocktail if you have to wait at the bar for a table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Went ad a group of 3, the food here is excellent with the standout dishes being the Pork Belly and Beef Cheeks, which were all excellent. The restaurant has large group tables as well as some smaller tables, so if you are looking for a bit of privacy then I would suggest booking a smaller table. The staff are excellent. Would definitely return and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Tried three small plates Scallops, corn fritters & two large plates Pork belly & crispy duck, all were very, very tasty & I would order them again when we go back. But my standout was the Chilli Salt Lamb Ribs with Pineapple Tamarind Dipping Sauce, Absoluetely delicious. The staff were very friendly & helpful our waiter even advised us that we initially ordered too much food so we left one large plate off our order. We still had more than enough food as the servings were all generous in size. I would highly recommend Red Spice road to anyone. This restuarant is probably more suited to friend rather than a romantic dinner as most of the seating is communal on large tables.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Spice Road also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Red Spice Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Spice Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.