We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rare Steakhouse Uptown

Rare Steakhouse Uptown
61 Little Collins Street | Shop 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)
+61 3 9663 3373
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Rare Steakhouse Uptown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 3,366 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Committed to serving premium quality produce in a welcoming environment, our beef is sourced from across the country from Gippsland to Rockhampton and is graded by Meat Standards of Australia for its cut and quality - Come experience premium beef, basted and grilled to perfection, at three steak restaurants in Melbourne's CBD.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a great three course meal with my hubby, first time at rare steakhouse and will not be the last, thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The steak was cooked perfectly the galic prawns and mushrooms with feta were a great choice for entree and to top off a perfect meal the cheese plate for hubby and of course creme brûlée for me...awesome

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toddys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great steak but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Three of us dined here on a cold, wet Friday night. First time for all of us. I chose an eye fillet with green pepper sauce - the others chose pork spareribs. We had cauliflower au gratin as a shared side. Steak was great - perfectly cooked. Spareribs also went down well. Cauliflower was under seasoned but edible. Service was very attentive and friendly.

On the downside, we were seated right beside two very noisy tables of diners celebrating someone's birthday. They were extremely noisy - high pitched squeals and shouting which made our conversation extremely difficult and unfortunately lasted the whole time we were there.

Food/service rescued this experience, but only just - would have preferred to give 3.5 but that isn't an option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quick business travelling dinner for one before a movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Suggested by my hotel, charming helpful staff, warm and inviting, great steak, I will definitely be coming back. They got me fed and out in plenty of time for my plans while everyone else appeared to be have wonderful meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RGuyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Quick visit with a good group of friends before the game at the MCG. We were in and out without any compromise on food, quality or service. great friendly staff. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4017spiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited there Ono my own. Service was spot on, the food was excellent, I had the small sized ribs with baked potato along with Greek feta salad, and it was more than enough for a 6ft 3" guy to eat for dinner, and very tasty. The place was spotless, and the local bear was served ice cold in a frosted glass. How could you wish for anything more.....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steakhouse Uptown also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rare Steakhouse Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing