We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rare Steakhouse Lt Collins St

Rare Steakhouse Lt Collins St
Shop 6/61 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61396633373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 4,009 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $23 - $71
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian, Grill
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a great three course meal with my hubby, first time at rare steakhouse and will not be the last, thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The steak was cooked perfectly the galic prawns and mushrooms with feta were a great choice for entree and to top off a perfect meal the cheese plate for hubby and of course creme brûlée for me...awesome

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    118
    69
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great steak but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Three of us dined here on a cold, wet Friday night. First time for all of us. I chose an eye fillet with green pepper sauce - the others chose pork spareribs. We had cauliflower au gratin as a shared side. Steak was great - perfectly cooked. Spareribs also went down well. Cauliflower was under seasoned but edible. Service was very attentive and friendly.

On the downside, we were seated right beside two very noisy tables of diners celebrating someone's birthday. They were extremely noisy - high pitched squeals and shouting which made our conversation extremely difficult and unfortunately lasted the whole time we were there.

Food/service rescued this experience, but only just - would have preferred to give 3.5 but that isn't an option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quick business travelling dinner for one before a movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Suggested by my hotel, charming helpful staff, warm and inviting, great steak, I will definitely be coming back. They got me fed and out in plenty of time for my plans while everyone else appeared to be have wonderful meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Quick visit with a good group of friends before the game at the MCG. We were in and out without any compromise on food, quality or service. great friendly staff. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited there Ono my own. Service was spot on, the food was excellent, I had the small sized ribs with baked potato along with Greek feta salad, and it was more than enough for a 6ft 3" guy to eat for dinner, and very tasty. The place was spotless, and the local bear was served ice cold in a frosted glass. How could you wish for anything more.....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steakhouse Lt Collins St also viewed

 

Been to Rare Steakhouse Lt Collins St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rare Steakhouse Lt Collins St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.