We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rare Steakhouse

Rare Steakhouse
61 Little Collins Street | Shop 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9663 3373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 4,225 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $55
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rare is one of Melbourne's Premium steakhouses, with two restaurants located at either end of the CBD. The menu features 15 different cuts of quality pasture and grain fed beef, all brushed with Rare's unique basting sauce and char-grilled to perfection. Complementing its menu of beef cuts, is a mouth-watering selection of sauces and a wide variety of delicious sides. For those who prefer something other than steak, Rare offers delicious alternatives such as pork spare ribs, lamb, chicken, seafood and vegetarian dishes. Perfectly matched to the fine food is a vast selection of premium Australian red wines, boutique beers and an equally impressive cocktail menu. Knowledgeable and attentive staff create an ambience of comfort and warmth, in stylish surroundings of white clothed tables and subtle lighting, with a bustling yet unhurried feel.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great steak but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Three of us dined here on a cold, wet Friday night. First time for all of us. I chose an eye fillet with green pepper sauce - the others chose pork spareribs. We had cauliflower au gratin as a shared side. Steak was great - perfectly cooked. Spareribs also went down well. Cauliflower was under seasoned but edible. Service was very attentive and friendly.

On the downside, we were seated right beside two very noisy tables of diners celebrating someone's birthday. They were extremely noisy - high pitched squeals and shouting which made our conversation extremely difficult and unfortunately lasted the whole time we were there.

Food/service rescued this experience, but only just - would have preferred to give 3.5 but that isn't an option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    87
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quick business travelling dinner for one before a movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Suggested by my hotel, charming helpful staff, warm and inviting, great steak, I will definitely be coming back. They got me fed and out in plenty of time for my plans while everyone else appeared to be have wonderful meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Quick visit with a good group of friends before the game at the MCG. We were in and out without any compromise on food, quality or service. great friendly staff. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited there Ono my own. Service was spot on, the food was excellent, I had the small sized ribs with baked potato along with Greek feta salad, and it was more than enough for a 6ft 3" guy to eat for dinner, and very tasty. The place was spotless, and the local bear was served ice cold in a frosted glass. How could you wish for anything more.....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good but not tempting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

For entree, we had a Baked Field Mushroom, which tasted nice, the saltiness of the cheese balancing the unsalted mushrooms perfectly. Salads tasted pretty great, but it was mostly to accompany the amount of meat we were going to be having.

For main we had Pork Spare Ribs, which was the highlight of the entire meal. It was succulent and utterly fantastic. The steak, Angus Pure Porterhouse, however was not a great as expected. It tasted pretty nice, sure, but a little chewy. The Baked Cauliflower Gratin that we had on the side was a little bland.

And whilst the waitress was friendly enough, we aren't in a hurry to go back. After the meal, there's nothing that you would specifically want to go back for, or want to try next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Rare Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rare Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.