We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable modern hotel for overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Heritage Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Seasons Heritage Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   572 St Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable modern hotel for overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Stayed here overnight to avoid getting a cab home after a business function. Paid $117 (incl breakfast) via the hotel website. Pays to check - wotif and hotel club also had the same rate, but you will incur booking fees. Parking is $15 extra (free parking on street from 6pm - 8am, parking inspectors are very strict on this street - if you are likely to sleep in, invest in the hotel parking). Internet access is extra too - didn't use so can't comment on it's speed.

Good location. Trams outside on St Kilda Road. Lots of taxis going past too. 10-15 minutes walk to Fitzroy St, St Kilda. Approx 5 min taxi to city (if no traffic), 10min by tram. One small block to Albert Park Lake. 10-15 min walk to Chapel St. Not many convenience stores in immediate proximity. Belgian Beer Cafe is across the road.

Check in / check out was efficient and professional. Checkin counter was very high though! Charming period style exterior, modernly decorated in a style sympathetic to the heritage of the building. The elevator, although modern, was very dark. So were the poky hallways leading to the rooms. Quite an interesting set up, every two rooms also had an external door.

Room was very good size, I was in a standard room. Walking in, good size caesarstone kitchen style bench on the left (with toaster, fridge etc) to throw your handbag/newspapers etc on to. On the right, the double mirrored wardrobes (with room safe). Separate bathroom - sparsely decorated, not much bench space to place toothbrush, makeup etc. Some small slots in the wall - but ineffectual. Small hand basin, toilet and large walk in shower with glass screen. All this was very clean and modern. Toiletries didn't look that great in quality. Bedroom - had a queen bed - linen was clean and of good quality. There is a small slim writing/ lcd tv desk opposite the bed - would have been annoyed if I was staying here for a longer business trip. Lighting in the room was good. I got a room with a balcony, facing the roof tiles of the original period style house. Not much of a view - but it was quiet.

Could have done with a room service menu! Tried the free breakfast - very simple - cereals, yogurt, toast, fruit etc. I think they also have a more extensive paid a la carte menu which looked ok too.

I didn't spend much time in the room, but appreciated that it was clean, modern and a comfortable place to spend the night at a great rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    113
    53
    25
    11
See reviews for
21
116
29
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

When we arrived in Melbourne, we thought we had made a mistake as the hotel was quite a way out of the city, but once we had orientated ourselves to the excellent tram system, we knew we had made a good choice. Even in the rush hour it takes only 15 minutes to get into the city centre by tram.
The hotel rooms were spotless but a little small, but we do expect small rooms in a major city. They contained a safe which is invaluable to put your passport and other valubles. The small restaurant and bar was very reasonable in happy hour, doing a glass of bubbly for $3.00.
All in all, excellent value and staff very friendly and well located in the St Kilda area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

When entering the room, was so excited as I have high expectation but a little bit disappointed that it was small and the bedroom has no ensuite :(
The kitchen was small (was expecting full-size fridge but only get small bar fridge). The corridor to the lounge room and balcony is very narrow.
However the reception staff are friendly and room service was great :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We run a very busy business 7 days a week. Can only get away for 1 or 2 nights at a time. Chose Seasons Heritage for its location instead of City for relaxation. Selected Winter Warmer Package and were very pleasantly surprised. I normally hate checking in as have never found any pleasant staff on reception anywhere else. All staff were lovely at all levels (including housekeeping and mini bar). 1 Bedroom Apartment on 11th floor was exceptional overlooking Albert Park Lake and the Bay beyond, the big plus was a balcony. Apartment was the cleanest we have ever stayed in, beautifully appointed with little extras like toothbrushes and comb (we forgot ours). Breakfast was included and delivered to us on time. Best spread ever, could not eat it all, plus our package included 12 noon checkout. It was the most relaxing stay we have ever had. Thank you everyone, keep up the great work, we will be back, and we are telling our friends about the great hospitality. Thankyou

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My boyfriend surprised me with a night at the Seasons Heritage, he also chose that night to propose to me. We couldn't have chosen a nicer place to spend this special occasion. From the minute we checked in till we checked out, we found the Seasons Heritage to be very accommodating. The rooms are not overly big but are very comfortable. The bathroom is spacious with a large shower. The room had more than your average hotel room eg. microwave, cooking utensils etc. The breakfast was delicious and the midday checkout was a nice bonus for a lazy Sunday morning. Such good value for money. I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Room was small but clean with really good king size bed. The window was dirty from outside so couldn't enjoy the view. Tram stop right outside the hotel; very easy to go to the city or St Kilda. Didn't have time to use most of the hotel amenities.
Service was professional, not friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed in a joint deluxe 1 bedroom and studio room with balcony looking out over St Kilda Rd. Nice rooms that were fairly basic but quite modern. The study room was very small and I would have found too small if not had the connecting bedroom. The lobby and hallway are great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My only gripe is that the rooms were just not that clean - there were marks all over the walls, the carpet needed a vacuum, coffee table had coffee stains on it and the balcony and all the windows had a thick layer of dust over them. The curtain in one of the rooms was falling down, which made the room look a bit shabby. The bathrooms were clean - thankfully. This could be a good value hotel if management works on the cleaning issue. It is a good base to explore St Kilda, South Yarra, Prahran etc and some nice little restaurants not far from the hotel on Greville st.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seasons Heritage Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Heritage Melbourne

Address: 572 St Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seasons Heritage Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is suited on the southern end of St Kilda Road across from Wesley College, Belgian Beer Café and walking distance to Albert Park Lake and Alfred Hospital.It combines the old world charm of a restored heritage listed mansion with a modern contemporary apartment wing. Guests have a choice of standard rooms and self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Seasons Heritage Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Heritage Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Heritage Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.