We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place with some quirks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Heritage Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Seasons Heritage Melbourne to your Saves list
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   572 St Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
boca raton florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Cute place with some quirks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having the misfortune to come during the Australian Open, there were alot fewers hotel bookings available. The Parkview - where I usually stay - was booked up and so we opted for the Seasons Heritage. It's a cute historical building and convenient for us as it was a block away from work. The staff I have to say were quite friendly although not always quite on target. We didn't see the standard room so can't comment on their size but instead opted for a one bedroom accomodation. The rooms are furnished in early seventies and kind of quaint and there is plenty of room in the one bedroom arrangements in terms of hanging on the couch, etc.

The refrigerator was nice and worked well and I made use of it. There is a mini-stove with two burners and a dishwasher along with some elementary dishes and sliverware. Also a big plus for some was the washer and dryer. I ended up not using them because although there was a picture and instructions to starting it, the button they referred to on the dryer to start it didn't seem to exist - the fact that they hung the dryer from the wall upside down may not have helped.

The beds were not the most comfortable - the matresses were hard and the pillows kind of bouncy, resilient and not very soft. The bathroom was rather nice and I did observe the same phenomenon that other reviewers did - the shower water would spill over into the rest of the bathroom. I did some experimenting with the shower and discovered that the water seems to leak from improperly installed seals that hold the glass in place.

Some reviewers had a tough time with the air condition control and I would agree it's pretty cryptic - it took some experimentation to figure out how to work it properly. Other reviewers griped about the Internet charge - $5/hour or $15 per day but the Parkview was similar. Just go next door to the cafe - they have free wifi. Finally, we did not eat in the hotel dining facilities so I cannot comment on them.

The location of the hotel is fabulous - next to the Melbourne cricket club field and there is a tram stop right out front with lots of different routes running on that particular part of the tracks. There is a 7/11 store one block towards town from the hotel that is convenient and a hidden IGA grocery store another 70 meters down from that.

All in all not a bad hotel for the money, especially if you like space and spring for one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHM_Management, Manager at Seasons Heritage Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Chowdog65,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to know that overall you are satisfied with Seasons Heritage Melbourne product and services.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
warm regards,

Isabelle Caderbaccus
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    131
    62
    27
    17
See reviews for
31
132
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for one night and it was great. The room was very clean and had everything I needed. I will definitely come back and recommend it to others . It's close to chapel street and the city , so perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHM_Management, Manager at Seasons Heritage Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Alexdou26
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay at the Seasons Heritage Melbourne.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. We do work hard at trying to create a favourable impression and so it is always gratifying to be told when we succeed.

Thanks again, and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming back again.
warm regards,
Isabelle Caderbaccus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location for the CBD, Albert Park and St Kilda. Staff very helpful. Stayed in a basic room but this was still comfortable and clean. Only issue was the price of Internet access - $15 per day which is overpriced when you can stay in smaller places and get free or lower cost wifi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHM_Management, Manager at Seasons Heritage Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Kayakgirly,Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us.
We love to hear all feedback - both positive and negative. All comments have been noted and will be discussed further at our next hotel meeting.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Warm regards,
Isabelle Caderbaccus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here with 2 girlfriends for a long weekend away in the one bedroom apartment in mid November 2012. The apartment was a really generous size (bathroom was huge and had a washer & dryer) and such a quiet place to stay. All the furnishings were modern and the rooms were super clean.

The Hotel is also across from the Belgian Beer Cafe which was very handy when you didn't feel like going very far for a cold beer or meal. We didn't dine at the Hotel but it looked very nice. The room had kitchen facilities so it's also easy if you feel like staying in for the night!

The tram stops right outside and was central to everything we needed. The staff were really helpful and willing to help us girls out with directions and recommendations.

The only negative was the balcony was teeny tiny and you could only stand outside, but the weather was really cold so we didn't want to be out there anyway.

This hotel was absolutely lovely and we will be back again for a repeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHM_Management, Manager at Seasons Heritage Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear krystle, Thank you for this great review. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. Please do come back and stay with us again when you are next in Melbourne.And remember to mention you are a return guest for an exclusive deals.
Kind regards,
Isabelle Caderbaccus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was a rather pleasant surprise as the façade is an older architecture that is connected to a 13-story new construction, the hotel. It’s located in a nice area, and has a tram stop right in front of the hotel. The reception even sells tram tickets so that guests don’t have to worry about change (~$6; however, this was supposed to be phased out by January 2013 and replaced by a myki card).

Our room – actually a suite – was another pleasant surprise, as I didn’t remember booking a suite. I guess pre-paying through Agoda did do us some good, and the rate was fairly competitive ($380 for 3 nights). The suite, #1132 on the 11th Floor, consisted of 10x10 sitting/ dining room with a round table and two chairs, 2-seater sofa, coffee table and a flat screen TV (32”) located at the end of the unit. The separate bedroom had a queen size bed and a built-in closet and was located between the sitting room and bathroom. The bathroom was fairly decent size and sported an apartment size washer/dryer unit right beside the shower. The shower was a regular size with a half screen (many guests have complained about this feature as water splashes all over the bathroom floor). In addition to all this, there was a decent size kitchenette with fridge, dishwasher, microwave, small built-in stove, and a full set of dishes and cutlery for two. Our new temporary home also had a full length balcony with a view of the lake and the ocean. No complaints here for sure!

On the negative side,
- The furnishing is definitely due for a bit of an upgrade.
- The cleaning of the suite was less than adequate – no vacuuming was done during our three-night stay.
- It's quite expensive to get to from the airport:
- Taxi ~$100;
- SkyBus to Southern Cross Train Station - $28 return, plus ~$20 taxi

We booked this accommodation online through Agoda http://www.agoda.com/ in August 2012 and were surprised when we realized that they charged the whole amount to our credit card, which we understood to have given only to secure the booking. We were not exactly happy about that but got over it…one thing less to pay at the end!

Room Tip: If possible, select the 1-bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHM_Management, Manager at Seasons Heritage Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear ala13,
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with our product and services, especially the warm efficient service provided by our Staff. We do work hard at trying to create a favourable impression and so it is always gratifying to be told when we succeed.I will proudly share it to all of our team especially to Cici, and I’m sure it will motivate them all to keep up the great work. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcome you again.And remember to mention you are a return guest for an exclusive deals.
warm regards
Isabelle Caderbaccus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for two weeks so that I could attend two family weddings. The apartment was great - comfortable bedroom, clean modern bathroom with a washing machine & tumble dryer, kitchen area with fridge & microwave and sitting room with TV and balcony. WiFi is extra but not too bad. I just booked it for the whole two weeks along with the room.
The breakfast was good but I couldn't eat there in the evening because the restaurant menu did not cater for vegetarians (which is why I have given it 4 starts instead of 5).
There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which takes you to the beach in one direction or the city centre in the other. The Prahan market is within waking distance and definitely worth a visit.
Try to book a room as high up in the hotel as possible to benefit from the balcony because there is an office block next door.

Room Tip: Try to book a room as high up in the hotel as possible to benefit from the balcony because there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHM_Management, Manager at Seasons Heritage Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Koala_ girlworthing,thanks for taking the time to write this great review on TripAdvisor.I am glad to read you have enjoyed your allocated room and the location of the hotel. I am sure your recommendations will be useful for future potential guests.I have passed on your comment in regards to the vegetarian option at the hotel to our Executive Chef .
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future in Seasons Heritage Melbourne.

warm regards,
Isabelle Caderbaccus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as a last minute resort on new Years eve.. got a free upgrade to a one bedroom apartment which was lovely. Room had everything you need.. dishwasher, microwave, cooking utensils, even a dryer and washing machine! Staff were nice and friendly too. Would definitely stay here again. Tram stop across the road that goes into the city too. Great value for what you pay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHM_Management, Manager at Seasons Heritage Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear rmdre,
Great Review!!! I am very pleased that you were pleasantly surprised with the choice of hotel. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.
Warm regards
Isabelle Caderbaccus.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seasons Heritage Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Heritage Melbourne

Address: 572 St Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seasons Heritage Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is suited on the southern end of St Kilda Road across from Wesley College, Belgian Beer Café and walking distance to Albert Park Lake and Alfred Hospital.It combines the old world charm of a restored heritage listed mansion with a modern contemporary apartment wing. Guests have a choice of standard rooms and self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seasons Heritage Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Heritage Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Heritage Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.