We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Full on Tuesday Night - Great Steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station Hotel

Station Hotel
59 Napier St, Melbourne, Victoria 3011, Australia
(03) 96872913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 4,231 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Bistro, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“House Full on Tuesday Night - Great Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

DIned here last Tuesday and the restaurant was packed. This is easily to understand as the meals are represent great value. An excellent dining experience and service to match. We each enjoyed a steak - my Southern Supreme sirloin medium rare was superbly cooked and flavoursome. The accompanying sauces complemented the meat well. Chips and a garden salad rounded out a fine meal. The drinks list provided plenty of choice of local and imported beers, and wine by the glass. We felt unhurried and the atmosphere was friendly. Will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    35
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We've been back to The Station on a number of occasions, and the steaks continue to impress. Really great cuts, and cooked perfectly to how you like them. The wait staff are always pleasant and polite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Title says it all. Go for the steaks! Me and 2 dining companions all had the steaks, the 200g John Dee flat iron steak, 500g stockyard beef t bone and 300g kilcoy scotch fillet. All 3 steaks were magnificent , the pepper sauce was a proper reduction base sauce, the béarnaise was text book perfect. Mammoth hand cut chips had been double or maybe triple cooked. Extremely crispy. Some of the best steaks I've ever tasted. Brilliant

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Consistency counts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Why do we keep going back to the Station, because it never disappoints us. The food, the wine, the service and the atmosphere are consistently good. Cannot recommend this restaurant enough and did I mention it is great value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband took me to this hotel recently, for the first time & I was a bit skeptical on the menu options as I am a vegetarian,but the waiter who served us was really pleasant & helpful in offering us suggestions & checking up on us now & then. The food was yummy & we were so full, that we were unable to finish :)The environment is great and gives a warm feeling! The food is a bit pricey though!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station Hotel also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.