We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc.
45 Flinders La, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9650 1445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 4,056 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good food with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch and was greeted by a friendly staff. She took time to explain the menu to us and even offered us a sample of the wine she recommended!

Would recommend the baked chilli mussels (AWESOME!), the ocean trout (fresh) and the steawberry with ice cream dessert. The grilled pork chop is alright but the cos salad was a bit of a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    222
    68
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good excellent but coffee a let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Sydneysider on business in Melbourne. Came solo after finding this place online. Arrived a couple of minutes before opening at 7 but staff were more than happy to let me come in from the cold and wait inside. Seat yourself at one of the several bar seats, round tables in the middle, or bench tables at the end of a well lit room with morning appropriate reggae-type music playing. Was approached within a couple of minutes with a menu and my coffee order was taken. Within 10 minutes, 7 other parties (all business people at this hour) had arrived and distributed themselves across the restaurant. Coffee arrived but was disappointing - good beans but the milk was not hot enough. Freshly baked bread was wheeled through the restaurant and stacked into shelves outside the kitchen (which is in clear viewing of one of the bars, always a good sign). Within another 5 my meal (shakshouka) arrived, along with another 5 parties in quick succession - the solo waitress doing a supreme job. The shakshouka was delicious - very hot, good balance of flavours and the right price for a very decent serving. I walked for 20 minutes to get here this morning and would do it again - well worth it. Arrive early to avoid waiting for a table! By 730 most tables were taken and a few bar seats remained (with the exception if a table for 8 set and waiting for a booking perhaps).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food but not worth it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The food is good and I liked the open kitchen where you can see the chefs cooking and preparing the courses, but I would say that our experience was not good.
We waited 1 hour to be seated. Fortunately they have a bar on the upper floor, so we had a drink before dinner. They gave us 2 bar stools in front of the kitchen with a very small place to put our plates and drinks and just close to the other guests. Also the service was very slow, even if the staff is very friendly and helpful. In general, I consider the place expensive for the overall experience (2 mains, 1 started, 1 beer, 1 glass of wine for around 120$).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This restaurant is probably more suited to a group as they recommend sharing we ordered the lamb but were told it would be to much for 2 we ended up sharing a starter some Serrano ham and a pork chop main very expensive for what we had in fact I was starving when I left. The staff were very pleasant but we had a long wait for a table in the bar upstairs which was packed to the rafters would not return to this restaurant for dinner

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, AUS
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Loved every mouthful of food! We ordered the mussels, freekeh salad and the pastrami. Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would not hesitate to return. Coffee was also the best I had this stay in Melbourne.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumulus Inc. also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cumulus Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.