We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc.
45 Flinders La, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)
(03) 9650 1445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 3,377 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Australian, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hip Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Cumulus Inc has been around for awhile now but still pavking them in. Ok you may need to wait for a table but take the offer of sitting at the bar if offered. And no matter what you do have the fresh baked Madelines with lemon curd. So heavenly and so worth waiting for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent breakfast selection with great coffee, however lunch menu could be broader. Also offering nice looking sandwiches etc to take away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aloha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
292 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great creative food, good service, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Been here a few times and the food is always excellent quality, very fresh, lots of vegetarian and gluten-free options.The tuna tartatre with peas and beetroot dishes were great as was the fried burratta. Good service. Always packed and noisy so not for a romantic dinner. Good fun vibe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Cumulus Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I couldn't find a separate listing for Cumulus Up, upstairs from Cumulus Inc, so I'll do the review here. After hearing tales of woe about waiting lines we took a chance and went to Cumulus Up at 6:30 on a Wednesday evening. Luckily there were a few open tables and places at the bars. We sat at the bar looking into the kitchen. Every staff member was welcoming and friendly. We ordered a daily special, two lamb ribs ($7 for 2) and they were wonderful. The fried snails ($12) were good but we'll probably not get them again - they were nothing outstanding. The duck waffle ($8) was a small waffle topped with foie gras mousse, very tasty. But the standout of the evening was the smoked quail ($19). It had wonderful smokey flavour and was very tender and moist. The Bluemark Shiraz from Barossa ($52) was very nice (and at the low end of the price range). When servers or a chef would bring a dish they would describe it as if they were very proud of it, and hoped we would really enjoy it. We did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Breakfast Saturday morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Went with family got there around seven in the morning. Chose from there menu my son had the toasts and jams , my partner smoked trout rye waffle and crime fraiche, my was grilled sausage and beans & 65/65 egg all tasted good. The only down fall was our coffee Luke warm even when we reordered a second cup.Nice atmosphere and decor staff very friendly and knowledgeable .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Citizengastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumulus Inc. also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cumulus Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing