We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grazing away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc.
45 Flinders La, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9650 1445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 4,008 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Grazing away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to drop by for a beverage and sharing plates of food.

If just in pairs ask to sit at the kitchen bar to watch all the prep in action-amazing to see so many chefs prepping and delivering the food.

The Spanish / Italian inspired menu won't amaze vegetarians as there is a lot of charcuterie, but it is designed mostly for grazing with a few larger meal sizes for those who want their own. Staff are well versed on the menu and wine list.

We had no reservation but would suggest you ring first, especially if you need a table. Not cheap but worth the good food and vibe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    298
    197
    62
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lucky Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a seriously great cafe as only Melbourne does. The food for breakfast was excellent. Had the homemade crumpets and whipped vanilla ricotta. So going back to do that all over again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NO BACON on the Side, HELLO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Came here for Breakfast, staff great but nothing really grabs you and says eat me. Wanted one dish and didn't come with any bacon. Had to order bacon sandwich as well to get bacon. Hello. Rather go to the European

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and very nice wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I wasn't super impressed with the atmosphere when I walked into this restaurant, but the food was outstanding. My waiter was very friendly and helpful in recommending dishes to try. All of my food was fresh and delicious. Definitely the best meal I had while visiting Melbourne. I would go there again if I were ever back in the area, and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We showed up at this restaurant without a reservation - they took our name down and told us to come back an hour later. When we returned, they told us it would be 15-20 minutes more but we were welcome to order a bottle of wine and sit at the bar or outside to wait . We proceeded to order a bottle of wine and they allowed us to take it outside (without paying for it up front). We got a table in front of the kitchen (more like a bar) which was great for us as we were very interested in seeing how the kitchen worked. We ordered an entire shoulder of lamb and a few sides. It took 40 minutes to cook but it was outstanding. The service was fantastic throughout, especially as we were sitting at the kitchen bar. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumulus Inc. also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cumulus Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.