We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grazing away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc.
45 Flinders La, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)
(03) 9650 1445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 3,379 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Australian, Gluten Free, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Grazing away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great place to drop by for a beverage and sharing plates of food.

If just in pairs ask to sit at the kitchen bar to watch all the prep in action-amazing to see so many chefs prepping and delivering the food.

The Spanish / Italian inspired menu won't amaze vegetarians as there is a lot of charcuterie, but it is designed mostly for grazing with a few larger meal sizes for those who want their own. Staff are well versed on the menu and wine list.

We had no reservation but would suggest you ring first, especially if you need a table. Not cheap but worth the good food and vibe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 111jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lucky Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a seriously great cafe as only Melbourne does. The food for breakfast was excellent. Had the homemade crumpets and whipped vanilla ricotta. So going back to do that all over again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank janwholeboxndice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NO BACON on the Side, HELLO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Came here for Breakfast, staff great but nothing really grabs you and says eat me. Wanted one dish and didn't come with any bacon. Had to order bacon sandwich as well to get bacon. Hello. Rather go to the European

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and very nice wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I wasn't super impressed with the atmosphere when I walked into this restaurant, but the food was outstanding. My waiter was very friendly and helpful in recommending dishes to try. All of my food was fresh and delicious. Definitely the best meal I had while visiting Melbourne. I would go there again if I were ever back in the area, and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We showed up at this restaurant without a reservation - they took our name down and told us to come back an hour later. When we returned, they told us it would be 15-20 minutes more but we were welcome to order a bottle of wine and sit at the bar or outside to wait . We proceeded to order a bottle of wine and they allowed us to take it outside (without paying for it up front). We got a table in front of the kitchen (more like a bar) which was great for us as we were very interested in seeing how the kitchen worked. We ordered an entire shoulder of lamb and a few sides. It took 40 minutes to cook but it was outstanding. The service was fantastic throughout, especially as we were sitting at the kitchen bar. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheepdogtaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumulus Inc. also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cumulus Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing