We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumulus up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc.
45 Flinders La, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9650 1445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 3,963 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Tawonga South, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cumulus up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having tried to get into chin chin, walked back to go to cumulus inc, which was also booked out.
Neely opened cumulus up(upstairs) was available.
I was with my cousin, and a girlfriend for a post art exhibition.
We just had wine, a couple off bar snacks, and dessert-excited to see the man himself, Andrew Mconnell helping prepare our food.
Overall, a joyous experience....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    275
    181
    59
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been to cumulus on numerous occasions & they never fail to deliver. Highlights from my meal were the charcuterie board for starters (the ox tonge a surprise hit) & rum baba for desert. Wine & beer selection both great, only complaint would be that wines by the bottle a little over priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived and went to the holding area and ordered a bottle of wine. We only had to wait about 10-15 mins and we were then seated at the bar. It is interesting to watch the dynamics in a well run establishment.

I made a bit of a mess of the Wagyu bresaola - nearly dropped the lot on the floor. Never mind, it spread like butter and had a strong beef flavour. We had a fantastic meal and walked out suitably fed and watered. Thanks guys, we had a great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Good food but have to wait for a table and for service. Note to management - you need more staff! It was a stressful experience watching the staff. Not rushing back given all the other great places in Melbourne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Another tapas/sharing type meal, that was a flavour explosion with every dish. Great staff, great food, and an excellent drinks menu. This place is trendy and great to experience, I recommend it to everyone. Dish of the day for me was the ginger steamed pudding with burnt butter ice cream and matched with a 20 year old Muscot, absolutely divine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumulus Inc. also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cumulus Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.