We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumulus up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc.
45 Flinders La, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9650 1445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 2,875 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Barbecue, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Tawonga South, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cumulus up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having tried to get into chin chin, walked back to go to cumulus inc, which was also booked out.
Neely opened cumulus up(upstairs) was available.
I was with my cousin, and a girlfriend for a post art exhibition.
We just had wine, a couple off bar snacks, and dessert-excited to see the man himself, Andrew Mconnell helping prepare our food.
Overall, a joyous experience....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    302
    87
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been to cumulus on numerous occasions & they never fail to deliver. Highlights from my meal were the charcuterie board for starters (the ox tonge a surprise hit) & rum baba for desert. Wine & beer selection both great, only complaint would be that wines by the bottle a little over priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived and went to the holding area and ordered a bottle of wine. We only had to wait about 10-15 mins and we were then seated at the bar. It is interesting to watch the dynamics in a well run establishment.

I made a bit of a mess of the Wagyu bresaola - nearly dropped the lot on the floor. Never mind, it spread like butter and had a strong beef flavour. We had a fantastic meal and walked out suitably fed and watered. Thanks guys, we had a great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Good food but have to wait for a table and for service. Note to management - you need more staff! It was a stressful experience watching the staff. Not rushing back given all the other great places in Melbourne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Another tapas/sharing type meal, that was a flavour explosion with every dish. Great staff, great food, and an excellent drinks menu. This place is trendy and great to experience, I recommend it to everyone. Dish of the day for me was the ginger steamed pudding with burnt butter ice cream and matched with a 20 year old Muscot, absolutely divine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumulus Inc. also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cumulus Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.