We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of British Apartments

Save Saved
You added British Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
British Apartments
168 Arden Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments North Melbourne) (North Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My son rented an apartment for me for a week and on the whole it was ok, very comfy bed (twins pushed together) and great shower. The 'service' was hit and miss, cobwebs hung from every corner, dead bugs, noisy between floors, washing machine didnt work. Rather expensive given lack of service and outside space dirty with dead trees in pots. good location for us but probably wouldnt use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times over the years and overall the units are excellent value for money in north melbourne, which is a great suburb. The units are always clean and crisp with all the standard inclusions. The main negatives are the noise if you happen to get a unit close to the road, which is extremely busy and the noise from the tram, makes sleeping really hard and I'm a heavy sleeper. I would make it a priority to only stay here if you have a room further back from the road with the tram on it. I've stayed further back before and the noise was not an issue.

Collection of the keys is also an issue as this is done from an apartment block in carlton (about one suburb away). There is absolutely NO parking out the front and this is tricky.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and never really had and issue, the price was good and location was a good tram ride distance. Nights can be a bit noisy and I would not walk around at night time.. I went with my sister and we had a bit of a scary moment at night outside of the hotel with a guy watching us walk to the apartment. No issues when I was with my partner though.

Hotel could do a bit better at cleaning normal cleaning was fine just the small things including the heat pump needed a good wipe down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great spot - easy walk to Melbourne Uni. Nice studio. Pushed together beds not a problem for one person. No 'light service' happened despite being advertised. It was noisy especially the air conditioner and the ? honeymooners in the next room but I was at back of building so street noise not a problem. I always travel with earplugs. Check out Rubicon restaurant in Errol St for a great meal and the IGA for all your breakfast needs. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

North Melbourne is great location to stay. Easy tram access lovely pubs with cheap meals within walking distance. The apartment itself was ok, just ok, but as it is in the ''cheaper'' bracket in Melbourne you can put up with it.
But and a big but, do not expect to get much sleep. The sleep quality was the just about the worst we have expearianced. Arden street is a very busy road and the trucks and cars do not stop regardless of the time. The walls must be paper thin and the windows single glazed, so as a result we simply had no sleep on our first night. The following day we purchased some ear plugs which helped somewhat, but I am sorry to say there will be no repeat stay for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed here before, a few years ago, & found the apartments to be great value & clean. They are on a direct, frequent tram route into the city but are also still within walking distance of the shops & restaurants of Errol Street, North Melbourne. This time, however, was a different story! On the 2nd day we had gone out for the day leaving the dishwasher on & when we opened it to empty it there were cockroaches crawling out!! I made a quick phone call to some after hours number as it was early evening by this time. They appeared most concerned & said they'd send someone to "spray" in the morning but as it was the weekend weren't sure. We had to re-wash the contents of the dishwasher & therefore the small amount of detergent was not sufficient so we had to ask for more. It appeared that some powder had been put down after this but obviously not enough to fix the problem! It was reported to them again & they offered to swap apartments when one became available but we just asked for the problem to be dealt with. In the 9 nights we stayed there we had no linen change even although this is supposed to be done every 7 nights. The towels were "changed" i.e. thrown in the bathroom door. This seemed to constitute a "light service". The entry area to the apartments was really filthy - not a good first impression. One of the windows in the apartment had no latch on it as it had long since broken off. This meant that a child could easily have fallen out to a certain death as the apartment was on the upper floor! Also the fire alarm had a plastic bag over it. I brought all of these things to the attention of the management as they were serious problems. They were to be fixing them they said. The standard had definitely deteriorated in the 5 years since we'd last stayed there.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment which does not front onto the passing trams!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked this apartment despite the negative reviews on TripAdvisor, which unfortunately turned out to be a mistake. The traffic noise was absolutely unbearable at night time and woke us up at 5.30am. I live on a main road with tram line, but the high volume of large trucks travelling down Arden Street were unbearable. More sound-proofing is definitely required to make the room livable.

Other issues included:
- Double room was actually two single beds pushed together - too short for a tall adult
- There are no takeaway food options nearby in the area. Recommend dining out on Errol Street instead
- No parking included and reception located a suburb away in Carlton (however this information is clearly advertised, so I was prepared for this)

On a positive note, the staff on check-in were very friendly and welcoming, and the apartment itself was comfortable, spacious and well-appointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to British Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Apartments

Address: 168 Arden Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments North Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your British Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.