We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Apartments

Save Saved
You added British Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
British Apartments
168 Arden Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments North Melbourne) (North Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

For a group of three friends stopping over in Melbourne to watch the tennis, a stay at the British Apartments turned out to be a good choice overall and we would certainly stay there again.

The pros were the price (about $70/pp/pn for 3 people staying in a 1 bed appt), the cleanliness of the apartment, the (relatively) central location and the convenience of being close to a major tram line.

The only cons were the traffic noise (ear plugs recommended) and fact that you have to pick keys up from a location about 5 mins drive away in Carlton. Also, beware - the key pick up office is well-hidden - the actual address is cunningly disguised as a laundrette !
You don't have to take the keys back though when you check out, which I guess was a bit of a bonus.

There was nothing much to see or do around the hotel, but it was only a 10 min ($8) taxi ride to Fitzroy with its' wealth of excellent pubs and restaurants.

The appt. was well equipped with a TV, Dvd player and a little kitchenette. I think that we'd have needed more kitchen equipment for a longer stay ( eg. we couldn't find a chopping board ) but it was fine if you're planning on eating out most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We got a fantastic deal on the jetstar website for this place, and it was a really good self catering option. The tram stop couldn't be closer, it takes 10 mins or so to get you bang smack in the centre of Melbourne. My only complaint would be the tiny ants that were in the bathroom and along the skirting board next to our bed, we soon forgot about them though. Don't know if they are easy to get rid of however? The studio apartment was stylish and had everything you could need, and dishwashing and washing machine powder were provided daily. It was a quiet location, ideal for a 5 day stay as we did.
Note - make sure you get a myki card from a 7 eleven as you can't jump on the tram until you do - we walked into the city centre on the first day as a result. Not a bad walk if you are active though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found your rooms to be lovely and clean with the added bonus of a dishwasher and washing machine. Great value!! Our only criticism was the lack of a clothes horse to hang wet clothes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

That was a nice place to stay. Bathroom. bed and kitchen were tidy. The only thing was there were ants around the sink in kitchen as we slept at night even we didn't care. There was thing that need to improve. otherwise, it is comfortable apartment to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Studio apartment spacious enough for a few days. Modern kitchen and bathroom. Small outdoor area ideal for morning coffee. Walking distance to Victoria market (lovely grocery and deli shopping) and even to the city, if you're the active type. Otherwise, the tram is on the doorstep.
Just be aware that the key pick up is closer to the city and if you have luggage, you won't wanna walk it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed at Plum Nth Melbourne for 2 nights Oct 2010. Booked a studio apartment and although very small the apartment was close to the city and within walking distance to Errol Street which had a good range of restaurants and shops. There are trams available just around the corner which made getting in/out of the city very easy. The apartment is located close by to Melbourne University, Melbourne Hospital, Victoria Markets and The State Netball and Hockey Centre.
The apartment was clean and tidy and had a small kitchen with table and chairs TV, DVD, iron/ironing board and compact bathroom.
What I didn't like about this apartment was that you have to collect the keys from Plum Carton Apartments (approx 2 klms's away) as there is no reception which makes it hard if you do not have your own transport. I was not aware of this until after I had booked and it was an inconvenience as we were relying on taxi's and public transport.
The apartments are situated on a busy road in North Melbourne and therefore there is a lot of road noise and passers by.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Apartments

Address: 168 Arden Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments North Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your British Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.