We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumplings Minus” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dumplings Plus

Dumplings Plus
269 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
9663 8181
Improve this listing
Ranked #697 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $12 - $19
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dumplings Minus”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First of all average dumplings! Our first ones came out so fast and were lukewarm they were obviously not cooked to order we then had to wait ages for the ones that were being cooked to order! Every steamer was dirty with leftover steam bun on them - we only ordered dumplings not steamed buns! Staff have a no care attitude - are they being paid properly??? Serve me right for eating on Swanston Street!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    41
    8
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hot sour soup was amazing, Flavorsome and full of delicious and interesting floaty bits. Just the right amount of pepper & chilly. The dumplings superb try to get a table by the window fun to watch the amazing chefs create whilst you're having a meal.
This is a great place to have a quick and healthy meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“fast & delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found Dumplings Plus by accident after an evening event; it's a bit of a labyrinth, upstairs / corridors etc, and the service is patchy, but the food was great and reasonably priced. Chilli dumplings in rich sauce, and the duck in chilli and beer were highlights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our Neverfail Dumplings location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We always come here for dumplings.

The service is fast and friendly and the dumplings are always yummy, fresh and tasty!

We chose this dumplings place as our local as the staff are friendly, the prices are cheap and the environment is clean!

The steamed custard buns and the pan fried pork dumplings are our standard order!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Best yum cha / dumplings ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in Melbourne for 4 days, and went to this restaurant twice, both times amazing.
Love it when everything that comes out, is great, nothing was wrong, service great, food even better. Went with kids 12 and 14, they just loved it just as much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumplings Plus also viewed

 

Been to Dumplings Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumplings Plus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.