We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention Seafood Lovers!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melba at The Langham Melbourne

Melba at The Langham Melbourne
1 Southgate Avenue | The Langham, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
(61) (3) 8696 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 3,978 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $17 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Attention Seafood Lovers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, loads of seafood, amazing scenic view, great culinary selection, everything was amaaze. I have been here a few times and all occasions have been just great. The service is excellent. The walk from the entrance till you reach the restaurant is very plush. Worth every penny. Not sure I have anything negative to say :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    293
    133
    48
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“"Everything you can think of was good here"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Be it ambience, scenic view from the restaurant, culinary selection- everything was spectacular. This signature restaurant is named after Melbourne's world famous opera performer, Dame Nellie Melba, who in her time enjoyed a long and well-deserved reputation for tasteful performances.
The service was excellent. Inspite of we having sizable group, people got settled down as there was enough space, The place was not crunchy & eateries were well spread hence there was no rish at a specific counter.
The food was good & there was ample choice available. The view from the restaurant was also beautiful havin Melbourne skyline.
The walk area from entrance till you reach the restaurant was very well done with nice decorations to click.
What I liked the most was the ambience, outside view from restaurant & variety of eateries to choose.
I donot think there was anything which I didn't like.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seafood bounty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

For seafood lovers there is a surfeit of shellfish. Crab, shrimp, salmon, squid etc. on ice, in salads and mains. The peking duck pancakes were great and the Indian food quite authentic

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having read mixed reviews about Melba's buffet I was not sure what to expect but we loved it. We went on a midweek day for lunch so it was not overly busy and the reduced price made it good value.... and we gorged! Roasted pork belly with a crispy top was succulent, the antipasto selection varied and good quality, the Indian meals tasty - especially the naan made for you on the spot (try the dessert naan with m & ms and icecream) and there was plenty of seafood for those who like it. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“One of the best buffet breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I haven't had the pleasure of dining at Melba for dinner. But as a guest of the hotel, enjoyed buffet breakfast several times.
The selection is extensive, everything fresh and constantly being topped up.
My fav is the chocolate fountain!
Service at the restaurant is incredible just like in the hotel.
Definitely worth a visit for an anacong breakfast to treat yourself

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melba at The Langham Melbourne also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melba at The Langham Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melba at The Langham Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.