We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention Seafood Lovers!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melba Restaurant

Melba Restaurant
1 Southgate Avenue | The Langham, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
(61) (3) 8696 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 2,877 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attention Seafood Lovers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, loads of seafood, amazing scenic view, great culinary selection, everything was amaaze. I have been here a few times and all occasions have been just great. The service is excellent. The walk from the entrance till you reach the restaurant is very plush. Worth every penny. Not sure I have anything negative to say :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    193
    78
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“"Everything you can think of was good here"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Be it ambience, scenic view from the restaurant, culinary selection- everything was spectacular. This signature restaurant is named after Melbourne's world famous opera performer, Dame Nellie Melba, who in her time enjoyed a long and well-deserved reputation for tasteful performances.
The service was excellent. Inspite of we having sizable group, people got settled down as there was enough space, The place was not crunchy & eateries were well spread hence there was no rish at a specific counter.
The food was good & there was ample choice available. The view from the restaurant was also beautiful havin Melbourne skyline.
The walk area from entrance till you reach the restaurant was very well done with nice decorations to click.
What I liked the most was the ambience, outside view from restaurant & variety of eateries to choose.
I donot think there was anything which I didn't like.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seafood bounty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

For seafood lovers there is a surfeit of shellfish. Crab, shrimp, salmon, squid etc. on ice, in salads and mains. The peking duck pancakes were great and the Indian food quite authentic

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having read mixed reviews about Melba's buffet I was not sure what to expect but we loved it. We went on a midweek day for lunch so it was not overly busy and the reduced price made it good value.... and we gorged! Roasted pork belly with a crispy top was succulent, the antipasto selection varied and good quality, the Indian meals tasty - especially the naan made for you on the spot (try the dessert naan with m & ms and icecream) and there was plenty of seafood for those who like it. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the best buffet breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I haven't had the pleasure of dining at Melba for dinner. But as a guest of the hotel, enjoyed buffet breakfast several times.
The selection is extensive, everything fresh and constantly being topped up.
My fav is the chocolate fountain!
Service at the restaurant is incredible just like in the hotel.
Definitely worth a visit for an anacong breakfast to treat yourself

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Melba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melba Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.