We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melba at The Langham Melbourne

Melba at The Langham Melbourne
1 Southgate Avenue | The Langham, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
(61) (3) 8696 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
birkenhead
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you do nothing else you must try this when in Melbourne.Buffet style you can eat oysters,prawn,lobster,crab,steaks,lamb,chicken,Indian,Chinese,sushi, get the picture,not to mention a multitude of desserts.Beautiful surroundings and well staffed.It is pricey @ 75 aus dollars but I was taken for my birthday so I sat back and ate,it's only polite!Will go again when we are next in oz

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    179
    70
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Langham Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I enjoyed lunch at The Langham Melbourne yesterday with friends and it was one of the best lunches I've ever had. It was a buffet style and set price. The wine is a bit pricey per glass but you don't think about that when enjoying the wonderful food. I've never known for sure if I don't like gnocchi or it just hasn't been cooked well. I now know I like it! There is an Indian section and, while Indian isn't my favourite cuisine, I had the best naan I've ever had and very different from anything I've tasted in the past. The roast pork and chicken were cooked to perfection. I can't even describe the sweets section! They were small servings (so you can have more than one thing) and a great variety. The presentation was superb. Can't wait for the next special occasion to come around so I can revisit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Make sure you try the Naan bread...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Yum, by far the best buffet I have ever eaten at - but probably also the most expensive. I loved the fact they had fresh food stations for the sushi, stir fry & naan to be made. I unfortunately ate too much to try the M & M naan bread for dessert, but I did try the cheese and garlic naan bread with my dinner and it was absolutely beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great buffet restaurant. Although a little pricey at approximately $100.00 per head we belive it was well worth to dine. Oysters, prawns, crabs, wet dishes, roasts etc. Chefs were there to cook pasta, nann breads, crepes etc for you. Desserts were great. after all this we waddled out along the South bank and walked to the Casino where we had a lot of fun

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

What an experience, put this on your to do list. It was absolutely fantastic, already planning another trip. Couldn't fault the service, just wonderful. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melba at The Langham Melbourne also viewed

 

Been to Melba at The Langham Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melba at The Langham Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.