We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Terrace

Save Saved
You added Carlton Terrace to your Saves list
Carlton Terrace
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Terrace
196-198 Drummond Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This accommodation is in an ideal location, just one block from the busy, vibrant Lygon Street and only a couple of blocks across to the bohemian Fitzroy. We loved our time here. The Drummond Suite was clean and comfortable (although our son complained about the sofa bed). It's very quiet despite being in such an inner city location. They provided everything we needed but would have to agree with previous review that it is a bit weird that we never once met the owners or had any communication other than text messages. I think it would be nice for them to pop their head in at least once just to check that everything is ok. Also a suggestion would be an IPOD dock to listen to music.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have you ever stayed at a place where you had relatively high expectations, and when you left you were left with that "well, it was functional and mostly convenient, but not memorable or a great place to stay". Carlton Terrace looks good in the pictures, but it's fairly average. Clean, tidy, well located and functional with a few little boutique additions. It's a mixture of cheap holiday accommodation and a (slightly) boutique B&B

In fact, to be fair, it might have rated a bit higher for me if the owners ever showed up. Text messages with door codes? Sure, it's 2013, but really?. We spoke with no one except on their mobile, and we left and said goodbye to no one. If you're used to quaint B&Bs, this place actually seemed quite impersonal and possibly a bit weird. I wonder if the owners work full time and run this business on the side? Pretty smart if they do, but this might lose them points.

Great location if you wish to be near Lygon Street, but I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a bit of a snag upon arrival, when the cleaners did not leave our key in the door. A quick call to the owner had help arrive within ten minutes, and everyone was friendly and apologetic for the inconvenience. The location is fantastic, smack in the middle of a cafe-heavy area with rows and rows of lovely Victorian houses. Lygon Street is one over, and the delicious Brunetti cafe is just a few blocks. It's less than five minutes to get to the Melbourne Museum and Exhibition Building, too! Trams and buses aren't too far, and it's about fifteen or twenty minutes' brisk walk to get to the CBD.

The best bit is the kitchenette in our room. It includes microwave, small fridge (by American standards; it's standard for Europe), and a burner to cook on. There's a Woolworth's on Lygon Street about ten minutes' walk, so we saved some money by cooking "brekky" every morning and eating on the little terrace downstairs. The room came with teapot, toaster, and all the kitchenware two people needed, a lovely added value! Also unexpected: many TV channels on Foxtel and DVR capacity - nice for when you just have to collapse in the bed for awhile!

Shower has good water pressure, although the toilet can require more than one flush (water-saving feature is much less of a flow than American toilets). I would highly recommend this inn if you're looking for a quieter, more relaxed and friendly neighborhood and don't mind being left to yourself. Our room wasn't serviced daily, but honestly we didn't mind this at all: the room was clean when we arrived and we did our own washing up. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the room is older but comfy and a great value.

There isn't a pool or fitness center, but I accidentally clicked the buttons on my iPad.

Room Tip: Our room was number 7 at the top of the stairs: a nice little kitchenette and a big closet/dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Brilliant stay - had booked 2 nights initially but ended up coming back. Was brilliant - very convenient location and a good price. The owners were easy to contact when we couldn't find our key and were very helpful when my husband thought he'd left his glasses there.
We stayed over the GP weekend and the prices really were reasonable..
The room was exactly as described with a good bathroom and a decent sized bed.

Would definitely stay again and recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid north coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This self contained terrace is ideally placed for a quick shopping and eating break away. Our room was very clean, with all we would need for the 3 days here. Yes its older, with sloping floors even, and the bathroom was compact, but the shower was hot and water plentiful. The windows in the living / sleeping area could open ! A huge bonus.So we could sleep with air instead of aircon, and the beds were firm but comfy. One street back from Lygon Street where any type of food is available. We walked from the apartment to both the CBD and Brunswick street. The initial entry was smooth with the security number texted prior to our arrival. And we could store luggage under the stairs for the day we left. Only downer, and its a small one but it could affect some people, is that all the rooms are on the upper floor and the stairs are narrow and steep. I'd go back.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Cartlton Terrace impressed from the street with a quintessential, attractive Melbourne terrace house appearance.
We arrived earlier than expected (around12pm) and, true to previous reviews, needed to phone the number displayed on the front door. Several minutes later we received an SMS back with the entry code and room number, and the welcome news that the room was available immediately.
The room appeared larger than the Lygon suite booked, with a good sized sitting area and three large windows overlooking Drummond Street. Later that day we found a mistake had been made and we had been booked into the Drummond suite by mistake. We moved to the Lygon suite the next morning, a much smaller room looking back toward the rear of the garden. However it was a much cosier and quieter room, and I would recommend it for short stays.
Liz and David, our hosts, were friendly and helpful, and always available for assistance via phone or text. They live in the downstairs area of the house, with the three B & B suites on the 1st floor.
The Terrace is in a very good location with the Melbourne Museum and the free bus shuttle less than a 5 min walk, Lygon Street the same in the opposite direction, and the city a very pleasant walk of 15 mins.
There are numerous good restaurants, bistros and a great wine bar close by, although we found that the small kitchenette very handy for when we wanted a simple meal in. The Thresherman's Bakery, just off Lygon Street, had wonderful croissants and baguettes, and there was an abundance of small delis north on Lygon.
Overall, we would recommend Catlton Terrace. It is ideal for those wanting a home-style base to explore all the wonders of Melbourne, and who are fit enough to enjoy the walks to city attractions.

Room Tip: Drummond Suite would be recommended for longer stays due to the extra space and open kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This place is in a great spot for walking into the CBD or heading out for dinner in Carlton or Fitzroy but I was a bit disappointed by the room (studio Rathbone).

The kitchenette is tiny and looks like it was installed on the cheap 20 years ago. It also takes up valuable space meaning that the bathroom is also tiny. The main part of the room has a hideous brown carpet with swirl pattern which adds to the dated feel, a shabby sofa and a decent sized bed.

Other reviews have commented on the high standards of cleanliness - I would say that on this front the room reached the minimum standard.

One other minor point: when we arrived mid-morning there was no-one there to let us in and instructions to call a mobile number. This wasn't answered either so we left a message which no-one replied to and it wasn't until we tried calling again half an hour later that we got through to someone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Terrace

Address: 196-198 Drummond Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique accommodation in a historic terrace just 5 minutes from vibrant Melbourne CBD. The discerning guest will appreciate the stylish, self contained suites. Well appointed with ensuites, kitchenettes,wireless internet,and free local phone calls. Homely, safe, quiet. All just around the corner from famous Lygon Street eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Carlton Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.