We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby and supposedly self-contained apartments!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on the Park to your Saves list
Mantra on the Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Grubby and supposedly self-contained apartments!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cleanliness needs urgent attention from management. Rubbish under beds, filthy finger prints left over furniture and glass sliding doors. Could have done with a good vacuum too. Mentioned it to one of the senior members of staff, but nothing done other than agreeing with me. No saucepans or frypan etc for cooking even a boiled egg! Again it took follow-up calls to receive one tiny frypan. Great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    245
    106
    40
    21
See reviews for
200
100
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a work trip in a three bedroom suite. Magnificent view over the Exhibition Gardens. But the breakfast was very average- Either it was cold or had been sitting too long and over cooked. And the same 2 tunes play over and over. Also the cafe out the front seems to be staffed by back packers how've not been given any training. It took two hours to have a two course meal. Give it a miss and go up Lygon St

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

5 of us needed somewhere to crash the Friday before the Australian Open started - most hotels were already booked up in anticipation of the tennis the following week and only offered 2+ night stays. I chanced upon MOTP, noted it allowed single night stays and quickly booked a 3 room suite self catering - not expecting anything fancy.

Well, how wrong we were. This was a gorgeous self catering penthouse apartment we had stumbled across. Upstairs were 2 x double bedrooms - 1 with ensuite, 1 room with two single beds, all with balconies. There was also a huge family bathroom upstairs, then downstairs was a massive open plan living room/dining room with big flatscreen/stereo system, a functional kitchen and best of all a big balcony looking straight over Carlton Gardens to the gorgeous Exhibition buildings.

There was easy parking next to the hotel and the free City Circle tram line goes right past the front door; they have a lovely indoor pool which can open out onto the balcony to give the feeling of an "outdoor" pool; and a supermarket on the corner so you can pick up food etc easily.

Location couldn't be better, 3 minutes crawl to Bennets Lane (Jazz club), 10 minutes in any direction leads to some of the best dining in Melbourne - Casa Ciuccio and the Builders Arms on Gertrude, the European and Supper Club on Spring, all the delights of Lygon and Rathdowne, down to the Vic Markets or into the heart of Chinatown (and a bit further on to the laneway gems of Chin Chin, Mo Vida, Bar Lourinha etc).

(Yes it's true, we ate our way around Melbourne on this trip. We also managed to fit in some culture by going to see Warhorse - AMAZING - but that's another story for another day.)

Anyway anyway anyway the point is, this hotel is in an amazing spot, is very clean and comfortable, has friendly helpful staff, parking available next door, and the three bed penthouse suites work out at approx $115 p/p. As a single person this is a great deal, perhaps for couples not so much (YAY strike one for the single person!!!) but still worth the dosh.

Two downers: 1) in the family bathroom the disperser was broken so both tap and shower ran at the same time - waste of water and affects shower performance; 2) They only had 3 wine glasses in the kitchen - with two double beds one presumes 4 adults minimum... But you know what? I reckon I can put up with drinking wine out of a tumbler (oh the angst and humiliation I suffer for my art... or should that be habit?)

In summary - if I ever move to Melbourne permanently I want to live there - I wonder if they rent permanently?

Room Tip: Go the penthouses for the best views... Best for groups of friends or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The location is good & it has been "tarted" up but the bathrooms are very tired & really not acceptable. The staff were very confused both when we checked in & checked out. Two couples in each two bedroom unit seemed to be too hard. Disappointing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

These are all units so you get full kitchen, 1-2 bedrooms, meals/living area. bath/laundry so plenty of space and all you need. Well located and easy to find. Lots of public transport trains, trams and buses outside the door. Free tourist tram loop at front which is a great way to get around the city for free. Shops and Vic Market nearby. Have stayed there a few times and we love it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on several trips to Melbourne. We love the central location and the availability of on site parking. We always request a studio on a high floor and one which has been renovated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed in the 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms unit for four nights over Christmas period. This place is in a good location, circle tram just cross the road, many good cheap restaurants around. The unit it self was okay, but bathrooms looked tired, bit uhm....unclean( yup, agreed with familytravels21 about the bathrooms) and need some reno urgently!! Kitchen was in a good working condition, diswasher was working which was good. Front office was helpful when we asked for an egg flip, within 5 mins room service came and handed us the eggflip ( we could have pancake for breakfast). I give this place 3 out of 5 for the location, service and amenities ( swimming pool on level 6, working condition appliances i.e dishwasher, washing machine, dryer) but not the bathrooms cleanliness!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. Melbourne Attractions close to Mantra on the Park: Free City Circle trams Carlton Gardens - 1min Royal Exhibition Building - 2mins Museum of Victoria - 3mins Lygon Street restaurants - 5mins Melbourne Central Station - 5mins Chinatown - 5mins Melbourne Central - 500 shops - 5mins St Kilda Road - 15mins National Art Gallery - 5mins by car Victorian Arts Centre - 5mins by car World Trade Centre - 10mins by car Crown Casino - 5mins by car Melbourne Cricket Ground - 10mins by car Airport - 30mins by car (approx. $A50) Melbourne Exhibition Centre - 10mins by car ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.