We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Park

Save Saved
You added Mantra on the Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Abbey Travel Dublin they recommended this hotel. The rooms and view from the balcony would not disappoint they are great staff very friendly and helpful there is a pool on the sixth floor and it's a good size. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again the next time I am in Melbourne xxx

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Hi Bernie21,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on the Park next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    198
    94
    37
    18
See reviews for
169
89
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

All the rooms are newly refurbished and comfortable for a short break . Staff are very helpful , but if you like fresh air in your bedroom the windows could not be opened . If possible get a room overlooking the park as there is construction work being done on the other side of the building that starts at 7am in the morning !

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the park are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Hi floss44,

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

Yes unfotunately the bedroom windows cannot be opened for safety reasons but all apartments have large balcony doors which can be opened to allow fresh air into the apartment.

There is only minimal noise from the nearby construction now that they are working beyond our 18th floor, but the views from either side of our building are impressive!

Hope to see you back here again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Good:
- Convenient location, walking distance to good bars and restaurants in Carlton and Richmond
- Good sized apartments, we stayed in 1 bedroom which had good sized lounge room, large bedroom and kitchen with a dining table that could comfortably seat 4 people
- Nicely decorated in the main areas, the hotel has been recently renovated and the lounge room was nicely decorated and had a comfy sofa and decent TV with digital channels and an ipod dock
- Bathrooms were equipped with a washer and dryer

The Bad:
- The pool is a bit nasty. The pool itself is just ok but the changing rooms are disgusting and not much larger than a toilet cubicle with nowhere to change. The pool was not exactly warm and there is no hot tub but there is a sauna. Note you need to walk outside to access.
- Breakfast was pretty ordinary. They have a restaurant at the front of the hotel which looked very nice and we were looking forward to having breakfast there, but the breakfast included in the room package is a buffet in a back room with no character. The breakfast selection is pretty meagre (watermellon and orange slices for fruit plater), scrambled eggs (overcooked), bacon and beans.
- Beds are uncomfortable with one tiny pillow each.
- Bathrooms have only been partially renovated with ugly 70's tiles on the floor and in the shower. Our shower tiles were badly worn and really needed replacing.
- Service just ok, front desk polite but not warm. Maid walked into our room on the day of our departure without knocking!

Conclusion: Not a 4* hotel as advertised, but reasonable, particularly if you were staying for more than a few days and wanted some space. The view over the park is nice and it was fairly quiet (we were on the 15th floor). Not worth $200 per night. Skip the included breakfast and find a cafe in the neighbourhood! Also parking is cheaper around the corner than the included deal.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Hi Bluenose_Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time for an in depth review. We recently completed a $4M refurbishment of our guest rooms and the concerns you have raised which were not included in the refurbishment program are currently being addressed by our maintenance team.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Top end of town on the free city tram line. 5-10 minute wall to anywhere including china town, Lygon st, Vic markets and some great bars and restaurants.

Bed and living areas good but bathroom needs new tiles as most on the floor were cracked.
Good views on 14 th floor over Carlton gardens and convenience shop and restaurant down stairs on street. About 30 mins to airport and 15 min walk to yarra river.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Hi shoelaceundone,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed our location, we are currently addressing the bathroom tiling issues.

Hope to see you back here when you are next travelling to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a two bedroom apartment on the 16th floor. Nice rooms both had windows, the living area had a view over Carlton gardens. It was a great location, just outside the business & noise but still within reach to participate if you wanted too. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Hi Earthmedicine,

Thanks for your review - great to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staff were great in checking-in, explaining how the car parking worked.

Room (#607) was acceptable standard, clean and well maintained but the air-conditioning had no power, even when I set it to the lowest temperature to see how cold the place got there was barely a breeze coming from it. We were ok because it was a cool night but I'd hate to think what it would be like on a hot night.

You shouldn't stay in a hotel for the TV but the one we had was a nightmare. Firstly there's no guide on how it works so you're not to know that the only way to get out of the movie menu and into the real television stations. Then when you do there's no 'information' button on the ancient remote to see what programs are on or what the details of a program are.

Additionally none of the Channel 7 stations were working. Also watch out if you're intending to watch footy because they have all three Fox Sports stations but not Fox Footy.

Apart from some noise from the corridor outside which is inevitable it was very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Hi Adam W,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park.

We had new LCD TV's and digital system installed in September last year which was a big improvement on the old TV's that were in the rooms! I will pass on your feedback regarding accessing the information menus and the remote to our in-room entertainment supplier as these are standard pieces of equipment with hotel systems. We are also currently reviewing our Foxtel subscription to offer the best available package for our guests.

I will get our maintenance team to look at the airconditioning in that room - thanks for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

It was nice to have a suite with living room and bedroom, plus our own washing facilities. Nice too to have a small balcony to enjoy breakfast or coffee overlooking the park. The hotel could do with a little bit of modernising and freshening up. Easy to get to via the Skybus from the airport with free onward shuttle from their central depot direct to your hotel. Reasonably good location, opposite Carlton Gardens, the museums and IMAX cinema, and about 15 minutes walk from Federation Square and the river. Try the free City Circuit tram to get your bearings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Hi Dilbertfan,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park - I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We recently completed a $4M refurbishment of our accommodation rooms and will be doing some updating of the foyer and exterior in the near future.

We hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite 12-story Hotel located overlooking Carlton Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.