We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mantra on the Park, Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Park

Save Saved
You added Mantra on the Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Mantra on the Park, Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

It was nice to have a suite with living room and bedroom, plus our own washing facilities. Nice too to have a small balcony to enjoy breakfast or coffee overlooking the park. The hotel could do with a little bit of modernising and freshening up. Easy to get to via the Skybus from the airport with free onward shuttle from their central depot direct to your hotel. Reasonably good location, opposite Carlton Gardens, the museums and IMAX cinema, and about 15 minutes walk from Federation Square and the river. Try the free City Circuit tram to get your bearings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Hi Dilbertfan,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park - I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We recently completed a $4M refurbishment of our accommodation rooms and will be doing some updating of the foyer and exterior in the near future.

We hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    205
    96
    37
    18
See reviews for
174
90
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a brilliant stay at the mantra on park. The room was modern and well kept. The service from check in thru check out was excellent and we were really made welcome. Definatley recommend to anyone who wants to visit Melbourne.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi magpiejim1,

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park. I am pleased to hear to had enjoyable time and we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My sister and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for two nights. The apartment was well fit out and we had a queen sized bed and a bathroom each. The bathroom needs re-grouting and siliconing but nothing leaked and the shower was surprisingly good. The front of house staff were abrupt and made us feel like we were inconveniencing them by standing at the desk waiting for service. Overall, for the price, we found the stay very pleasant and very conveniently located (the free city circle tram stops just over the road). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi KadenJen,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your apartment. As part of our ongoing maintenance we are addressing the shower issue you raised in the effected apartments.

It is disappointing to hear your feedback on reception, we pride ourselves on friendly and efficient service but I have passed on your comments to the team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good business location on the edge of the CBD - 20 min walk to Bourke and Collins St Mall areas. Spacious apartments equipped and furnished to decent standards. No business desk or cable Internet access. Lighting over dining table intended for mood rather than illumination. Helpful, friendly staff.
Breakfast (and dinner if you wanted, but, hey, this is Melbourne and one of e best cities in the world for eating out, so why would you eat next door?) OK food-wise, but service very slow -new staff member, we were told. Happy to hold luggage and call a taxi, no complaints. We'd stay there again,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi OzCru,

Many thanks for your review - great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you back at Mantra on the Park in the near future!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at the Mantra in December for 3 nights with my husband and two young boys. The hotel is in an exellent location. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious which had all you needed. I will definately stay again next time I will be in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi boobie3,

Great to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us - our 2 bedroom apartments are great for families and I hope the kids got to take advantage of the swimming pool!

Hope to see you all back here soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here twice with a trip along the Great Ocean Road in between. First time we had booked a one bedroom apartment and on our return we were upgraded to a two bedroom on the top floor overlooking the gardens. everything about the rooms was outstanding- very spacious with stylish comfortable furniture, large well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms with good powerful showers. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The location is perfect-opposite a park and walking distance to everything. The free circular tram stops outside and supermarket five minutes walk away. We enjoyed restaurants in Fitzroy which is just across the park. We would recommend this hotel to any of our friends coming to Melbourne.

Room Tip: ask to overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi chrisalberta,

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stays with us - great to hear you enjoyed the upgrade for your second booking!

Good to see you took advantage of our great location and also enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting family in Melbourne

Mantra provides Serviced Appartments not a full service hotel so it's unfair to criticise it as a hotel. What you get is a great location, loads of space and some good basic amenities (like a working and reasonably equiped kitchen, washing m/c and dryer and aircon). Our appartment was well furnished. It's 30 metres from a convenience store and a few more steps gets you to the fee tourist tram stop. Melbourne Museum is a short walk away as is the Chinese district, Greek district and Lygon Street with its Italian restaurants, you won't be doing much cooking!

There's a roof top (ish - floor 6) pool and an independent coffee shop in the same building.

Niggles? well the safe deposit boxes worked well enough, but they are in reception and a safe in the room would be better. The WiFi isn't free (it's not even cheap) and at times it can be pitifully slow. The free TV channels aren't a great choice (no CNN / BBC World / Bloomberg for instance). The step out of the bath / shower was on the high side for some and it would have been nice if the manageemnt had left some instructions for the cooker / aircon / washing machine etc - OK you'll figure them out, but for the cost of a copy is s dumb omission.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a upper floor with a view over the park - not essential, but if you can get it, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi Mark_Elliott,

Thanks for your review - good to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks also for you feedback on various items - we will look into what we can do to improve these areas.

Hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite 12-story Hotel located overlooking Carlton Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.