We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent hospitality in a great CBD location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide Australia
Top Contributor
1,080 reviews 1,080 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
830 helpful votes 830 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent hospitality in a great CBD location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The RACV Club is a modern accommodation club situated in the heart of Melbourne's CBD.

It offers accommodation to members and their friends, as well as members of clubs with reciprocal membership arrangements.

The Club comprises several stories in a modern office building.

It has modern 5 star standard rooms, with excellent facilities.

There are several restaurants, ranging from fine dining through to buffet style and a contemporary bistro.

They have a modern and well equipped fitness centre.

The service is consistently excellent.

A special benefit is complimentary onsite valet car parking.

If you are able to stay here, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We spent a night at the RACV City Club, having been booked in by a friend (who is a member) to attend an evening function.

As non-members we paid $260 for a twin room, with valet parking and full buffet breakfast included. Our room was huge, with two very comfortable double beds, a separate dressing room, and a large, well-appointed bathroom. The decor is modern and stylish - the only disappointment was the outlook into a void between office buildings, although given the city centre location, this was to be expected.

We couldn't have been happier with our accommodation - for the price paid, it was excellent value, right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a few days in order to explore Melbourne. It proved to be very convenient and comfortable. The City Club naturally gives best rates to its Australian RAC members. Since we were tourists staying there via a booking made by my brother (who is an RAC member) we paid the full rate, but felt it to be very competitive with the 'last minute' rates canvassed for other comparable hotels, mainly because of the excellent buffet breakfast that is included in the room rate.
The room was a fourth floor corner room, with double aspect windows. A big comfortable bed, a walk-in dressing room of large dimensions and an excellent walk-in shower room in the bathroom, were all good features. The TV provided is huge, although we would have liked international channel access e.g. BBC World, rather than Australian channels only.
The buffet breakfast was healthy or not, according to your choice, and the variety available was great. We felt the concierge service by the front desk of the Club was absolutely superb. They could not have been more helpful. Overall the service standards are high. Just one comment - a subjective one - on the decor. We found it to be rather "corporate" - lots of wood panelling everywhere, which tended to make the bedroom feel a little like an office! But for a City Club, it probably supported the clubby atmosphere. A classic car (a red Jaguar when we were there) is on display inside the front door, just to re-inforce the motoring heritage of the Club. The RACV requires a sensible dress code for the public areas. This is interpreted fairly liberally by some visitors but didn't give us any problems. The health club is extremely well equipped and open to non-residents.

  • Liked — The location and helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — The decor (but this is a presonal preference)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one night and were not sure how we would like it as it is an Automobile Club Hotel but we we were very surprised.

We stayed here because we had a work related function on in their conference room in the club that evening. The conference rooms are very nice, tables were immaculately set and the food was beautifully presented.

The rooms were large and the beds were comfortable. The hallway was very wide (good for wheelchair access). We had a king size bed, nice size bathroom and walk in dressing room.

Overall we found the hotel in a great location close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Liked — Large rooms and close to shopping
  • Disliked — breakfast room was a bit slow
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel
Address: 501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list