We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best membership club yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
boston
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best membership club yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The RACV City Club in Melbourne offers excellent rooms, superior exercise facilities (my favorite is the swimming pool), terrific eating choices, and the best location in Melbourne's center city. Service is excellent, the staff is helpful whether serving food, offering advice, or cleaning guest rooms. Having visited private clubs in many cities/countries, for me the RACV's club is at the top of the list for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Burke Street (the main street in the area) -- no problems with noise, light, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great facilities and a fantastic hotel.
Stayed several times always had a great experience!
Staff are friendly and helpful. The concierge team were especially helpful!
Very easy to cruise into Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the RACV, Reteat level for two days (rm 811). It was most impressive. Bathroom was stunning. We have stayed on the lower floors on a number of occasions (which has always been great) but level 8 is beautiful, great ambience from the moment you step into foyer. It is only for the guests staying on that level. You have use of a 24 hr pantry, so you can have tea, coffee (from proper coffee machine) soft drinks and water anytime. From 5.30 till 7pm each evening there are drinks and canapés, fantastic way to start your evening. We had James as our butler, he was wonderful, he made our stay most memorable.
He always made you free welcome, nothing was to much trouble. Big thanks to all staff, especially James.
See you in the near future x

Room Tip: Stay Retreat level, JRN suite or luxury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just spent two nights in at the club to start the school holidays ! We stayed on the 8th Floor, in the retreat, a new experience for us ! It was worth the extra cost with the butlers pantry and the canapes each night a great bonus ! I wish the club had a few more school holiday activities, maybe even a out of the club scavenger hunt may have been a good option. We dined in each meal and our child loves the children's meal options. The swimming pool was used twice and the staff made us feel welcome. Well done, RACV

Room Tip: Avoid room 801 and 802, smaller rooms than the others on the 8th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

It's been awhile since my wife and I lodged here for a weekend. Circumstances were such that my wife was coming in from Hobart and I was coming down from the Murray River on a Sunday and we needn't be home until Tuesday. When I phoned to make a booking I was informed that there was a 'special' on which mean the second night was 50% off! Excellent.
I asked if it were possible to be put in one of the new rooms and was instantly given one of the King Deluxe rooms and when I arrived the desk made sure I was aware that room was only accessible by a certain bank of elevators; that there were complimentary canapés and drinks in the evening; and that we could enjoy a continental breakfast up there rather than going down to the main area in the mornings. Life just got a whole lot better!
We couldn't be more pleased or impressed with our accommodation and the 'extras' and it has sharpened our resolve to get down to Melbourne a little more often.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We attended a sporting club function /luncheon for 400 people on the 17th level. The main course ( alternate placement ) was (1) pan fried chicken supreme and (2 ) herb crusted lamb rump followed by glazed lemon tart. The meal was perfect and the service could not be faulted. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Very helpful front office staff even though my room was cancell due to my mistake. The room is big and very clean. It is very near to the tram line and the stop is less then 20 meters away. Friendly coffee house staff make me feel like home. I will come back to this hotel on the next trip. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel
Address: 501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list