We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
Save
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list
Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great City Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband had stayed at the RACV City Club (he's the member) previously, but this was the first time we've stayed there as a family (2 adults + one 8yo). The central city location is the best part about the Club, easy walking distance to the Burke St Mall, trams virtually at the front door, tourist shuttle bus around the corner, even walking distance to Southbank & the Casino. The room we had (5th floor) was spacious with 2 double beds (altho we found the mattresses too soft), so enough space for three of us and the bathroom was well equipped and plenty of amenities supplied (soaps, shampoo, hairdryer, tea/coffee making etc). However, the towels and sheets had obviously seen better days, in fact one set of sheets was threadbare with holes!! When we booked the info we received indicated "wi-fi in all rooms", this was not accurate. "Some rooms" have wi-fi, not all, and whilst there is access in the public areas, the connection is slow and not always reliable. The breakfast buffet was well stocked but the coffee was terrible, that is when you could actually get a waiter/waitress to serve it – really let down the overall experience. Evening drinks and dinner in the restaurant was good value, well serviced and child friendly. Big high-5 goes to the Concierge Desk staff who were always friendly, extremely helpful (with luggage etc) and ready to provide info on everything from the nearest post office to which tram/train/bus to catch to wherever!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
31
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The RACV Club remains a high standard accommodation and entertainment facility. The rooms are large and comfortable, clean and very usable. TV is now out of date and movies way too expensive. We stayed Friday and the room/breakfast/car park package was excellent value. We arrived early afternoon parked but did not check in. Went for a walk around town returning at about 4pm. Had a couple of drinks in the Carbine Bar, which is a really good relaxing area, checked in and went out for a function. On return had room service meals which were very good value and quality and had a good comfortable nights sleep. Rooms are ready for an update but totally acceptable. It is a club and some of the dress rules are up there but you know where you stand so this should not be an issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Well situated and versatile as members we have stayed here for years.
The rooms are good but becoming a little dated and gloomy, some colour would be good rather than corporate brown. Great shower but the towels are small thin and very worn looking. Included breakfast is good but the coffee continues to be un drinkable. Wi Fi is only available in public areas, this is un acceptable now days as the club is becoming quite expensive. The art collection is fantastic.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Attended a conference in RACV City Club Melbourne and stayed in their hotel accomodation. The rooms were large and beds comfortable. The bonus was the gym and pool. The gym was large by most 5 star hotel standards. Plenty of pulley machines and free weights. The 25 meter pool was crowded at peak training but avoid this and you are fine. Definitely the place to stay if you want to maintain your fitness or training whilst in the CBD.

Room Tip: Keep to the lower floors. Hotel has a 2 lift system and higher floors have a longer ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

An odd atmosphere here, the staff are all very polite, but there's no genuine warmth or friendless. They have been coached to say and do all the right things, but its all very mechanical and cold. A little snooty actually. You feel like an inconvenience to them.
Nevertheless, the food is good, though way too expensive, especially when you already pay for membership. The service is quick and they have a good menu selection, which also caters for dietary needs.
The wine is stupidly priced, a city restaurant phenomenon which they choose to follow. Overall - disappointing value and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Better valueand service at near by restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Very well located in the heart of the city. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, it was very spacious with a separate walk in robe and large bathroom with a separate shower and bath.

The room contained everything you would expect, they even provided those little packs of biscuits to go with your cuppa - something that I rarely see in hotels anymore.

If I had one criticism it was the bedspread and blankets they use - really guys?? That is definitely last century. Everything appeared clean but it still kinda grossed me out and I pulled the bedspread off the bed before I got in.

Breakfast was good and the other facilities were excellent.

I would definitely recommend but I wish they would update their bedding.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIng's Lynn
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

With my mum is a wheel chair we booked in advance an advices the staff of our requirements. I have to say they were outstanding in their service and support. Nothing was too much trouble, a big thank you to you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Address: Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RACV City Club is one of two outstanding RACV Club properties and is conveniently positioned in the heart of Melbourne's CBD at 501 Bourke Street. For an overnight stay, a weekend away, a short break or a holiday, the City Club has a range of accommodation options to suit your needs. There are 136 large and spacious rooms including suites, family suites, doubles, twins and interconnecting rooms for families. A full buffet breakfast, free internet and valet car parking is included in room rates. The impressive RACV City Club caters for the social, leisure and business needs of all Club members. A range of stylish dining venues and entertainment options make the City Club the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or to enjoy a coffee, social drink, business lunch or intimate dinner. Membership of the private RACV Club is separate to other types of RACV membership, which can include RACV Emergency Roadside Assistance and RACV Insurance. Only members of the private RACV Club can book accommodation at the RACV City or Healesville properties. RACV Club members pay an annual membership fee which enables members to book accommodation for themselves, their family, friends and guests at both RACV Club locations and to access a range of other Club dining, lifestyle and recreation facilities. RACV Club membership is available to anyone through a nomination process and full details about how to become an RACV Club member are available on the RACV website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.