We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Man oh man , the place is excellent to relax , lot of things to do , gym and the restaurant is amazing. The customer service staff is excellent , they are helpful and courteous during my trip with them.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The retreat was an amazing place to stay. We came with a group, booked 7 rooms, through an racv member (which is the only way to book, it's a members only hotel). We had an easy check in. One room wasn't ready at check in time and a couple had to wait. The rooms were so nice, we had the best as it had windows on two sides and had great views of the city. The complimentary canapés and drinks were great and a lovely butler serving. We had dinner in the main dining. A few of us were surprised at the amount of fat on our steaks being it was so expensive. But the meals were nice. Cocktails too. Lovely place to stay, lovely food and drinks and lovely staff. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

So wasn't the best experience, they lost our bag's for a few hr's after waiting for someone at valet to park rental car.

The rooms are nice dated but comfy, the service was below average, at breakfast my meal which was included in the room deal was charged to someone on my table s account...

Not going back

Room Tip: Noisy so the higher the better! Eat some somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the retreat on a Friday night between Home Shows at Jeffs Shed,this would be the 4 th time staying at the retreat it is simply the best ,the rooms beautifully done with all the latest electronics etc ,plus great coffee machine in the room .
It is very quiet with the card entry to the floor really a very good idea,between 5.30 til 7 drinks and nibbles which is very good the sad thing was a couple of people just made a dinner out of it going back and back that,s not what it is about it is a pre dinner area not dinner.In the morning you can go down for breakfast or stay on the floor with plenty of choice.
We will stay again and again as it is so good next stay is in Sept 2013.
The lovely lady who was on at night and in the morning is a great team member of the RACV club.
Our Thanks

Room Tip: Just any room on the retreat floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Top Contributor
1,080 reviews 1,080 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
830 helpful votes 830 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here again- this time I was in one of the third floor rooms, overlooking Chancery Lane.

The RACV City Club offers consistent high quality hospitality, with comfortable and quiet accommodation, excellent dining opportunities and good business facilities.

The rooms are modern, clean, spacious and comfortable.

The location is excellent, with a tram stop nearby. It's a short walk to the business area in Collins Street and the Bourke Street Mall.

Southbank is not much further.

The daily breakfast buffet is superb.

The Club also offers an excellent valet parking service.

I recommend the RACV City Club as a great place to stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: They have a range of room sizes and types- the spa rooms are good for couples. The Retreat offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Room (the base level) on Level 8-the Retreat last weekend. What a great place. We are RACV Club members-so stay regularly--but this is a step above the already high quality we expect from the club.
You enter form the card activated lift into a plush lounge area with comfy chairs and tables and the pantry area where coffee machine, snacks, drinks are at your fingertips. We were served drinks and canapes pre dinner--included in the cost, and in the morning wandered down to the pantry and brought back our breakfast in bed!! You can go downstairs for the cooked breakfast--but we elected to sleep in and help ourselves to the cereal/fruit/pastries in the pantry.
The room was beautifully furnished and decorated in dark tones. A lovely bathroom with bath and seperate shower and a dressing room that opens into the bathroom-great idea. The massive bed was comfy and the pillows amazing-I actually found out who supplies the pillows and bought some for myself!
I dont know what the other grades of room are like-but if ours was anything to go by-they would be as good-I know some have balconys and some have a garden area--maybe we will lash out for that one day!
The cost for the entry level room in The Retreat is not a great deal more than a standard room--so I would be happy to pay the extra and have the convience a private lounge and snacks etc if you were spending time at your accomodation.
Well worth checking this out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Melbourne for an important function and decided to stay in the accommodation facilities of the Club. Bookings must be arranged by an RACV Club member.
The whole experience was like a 5 star hotel. Checkin was smooth and efficient and our bags were delivered to our room before we had completed our checkin formalities.
Our King bed room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed a delight for sound sleep and the shower hot. My wife enjoyed the full size bath. Cable Internet is included and Wifi available in the lobby and second floor.
The package included a full breakfast and had a wide range of choices.
The price was excellent value for a central CBD location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel
Address: 501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list