We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient as the function was held there.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list
Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Gold Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Convenient as the function was held there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

So wasn't the best experience, they lost our bag's for a few hr's after waiting for someone at valet to park rental car.

The rooms are nice dated but comfy, the service was below average, at breakfast my meal which was included in the room deal was charged to someone on my table s account...

Not going back

Room Tip: Noisy so the higher the better! Eat some somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
27
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the retreat on a Friday night between Home Shows at Jeffs Shed,this would be the 4 th time staying at the retreat it is simply the best ,the rooms beautifully done with all the latest electronics etc ,plus great coffee machine in the room .
It is very quiet with the card entry to the floor really a very good idea,between 5.30 til 7 drinks and nibbles which is very good the sad thing was a couple of people just made a dinner out of it going back and back that,s not what it is about it is a pre dinner area not dinner.In the morning you can go down for breakfast or stay on the floor with plenty of choice.
We will stay again and again as it is so good next stay is in Sept 2013.
The lovely lady who was on at night and in the morning is a great team member of the RACV club.
Our Thanks

Room Tip: Just any room on the retreat floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
1,128 reviews 1,128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
904 helpful votes 904 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here again- this time I was in one of the third floor rooms, overlooking Chancery Lane.

The RACV City Club offers consistent high quality hospitality, with comfortable and quiet accommodation, excellent dining opportunities and good business facilities.

The rooms are modern, clean, spacious and comfortable.

The location is excellent, with a tram stop nearby. It's a short walk to the business area in Collins Street and the Bourke Street Mall.

Southbank is not much further.

The daily breakfast buffet is superb.

The Club also offers an excellent valet parking service.

I recommend the RACV City Club as a great place to stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: They have a range of room sizes and types- the spa rooms are good for couples. The Retreat offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Room (the base level) on Level 8-the Retreat last weekend. What a great place. We are RACV Club members-so stay regularly--but this is a step above the already high quality we expect from the club.
You enter form the card activated lift into a plush lounge area with comfy chairs and tables and the pantry area where coffee machine, snacks, drinks are at your fingertips. We were served drinks and canapes pre dinner--included in the cost, and in the morning wandered down to the pantry and brought back our breakfast in bed!! You can go downstairs for the cooked breakfast--but we elected to sleep in and help ourselves to the cereal/fruit/pastries in the pantry.
The room was beautifully furnished and decorated in dark tones. A lovely bathroom with bath and seperate shower and a dressing room that opens into the bathroom-great idea. The massive bed was comfy and the pillows amazing-I actually found out who supplies the pillows and bought some for myself!
I dont know what the other grades of room are like-but if ours was anything to go by-they would be as good-I know some have balconys and some have a garden area--maybe we will lash out for that one day!
The cost for the entry level room in The Retreat is not a great deal more than a standard room--so I would be happy to pay the extra and have the convience a private lounge and snacks etc if you were spending time at your accomodation.
Well worth checking this out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Melbourne for an important function and decided to stay in the accommodation facilities of the Club. Bookings must be arranged by an RACV Club member.
The whole experience was like a 5 star hotel. Checkin was smooth and efficient and our bags were delivered to our room before we had completed our checkin formalities.
Our King bed room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed a delight for sound sleep and the shower hot. My wife enjoyed the full size bath. Cable Internet is included and Wifi available in the lobby and second floor.
The package included a full breakfast and had a wide range of choices.
The price was excellent value for a central CBD location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I stay here whenever we want a couple of days in the city to shop/see concerts/dine out. The service is fantastic throughout the hotel. Staff are all professional, knowledgable and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble. We generally visit mid-week, and always enjoy dinner in the bistro, particularly burger and Italian night. Recently we loved the Thai buffet on offer. The breakfast buffet is also fantastic. The rooms themselves are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms in particular feel very classy and sophisticated and the large mirror is great for getting ready before a night out. Location is also a highlight, as you can walk everywhere that you need or just catch a tram from out the front. Overall, we always look forward to staying here for our stays in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have often stayed at this club. The beautiful blackwood rooms are very pleasant.
The breakfast is great, they now have a machine, for fresh juice which was excellent.
The facilities including the library are very worthwhile, as is the swimming pool and gym.
I am happy to stay at this club, although it is at the upper end of the price scale, as it is a very comfortable place to stay. The situation is very handy to retail therapy and also all other attractions and very handy for tram travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Address: Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RACV City Club is one of two outstanding RACV Club properties and is conveniently positioned in the heart of Melbourne's CBD at 501 Bourke Street. For an overnight stay, a weekend away, a short break or a holiday, the City Club has a range of accommodation options to suit your needs. There are 136 large and spacious rooms including suites, family suites, doubles, twins and interconnecting rooms for families. A full buffet breakfast, free internet and valet car parking is included in room rates. The impressive RACV City Club caters for the social, leisure and business needs of all Club members. A range of stylish dining venues and entertainment options make the City Club the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or to enjoy a coffee, social drink, business lunch or intimate dinner. Membership of the private RACV Club is separate to other types of RACV membership, which can include RACV Emergency Roadside Assistance and RACV Insurance. Only members of the private RACV Club can book accommodation at the RACV City or Healesville properties. RACV Club members pay an annual membership fee which enables members to book accommodation for themselves, their family, friends and guests at both RACV Club locations and to access a range of other Club dining, lifestyle and recreation facilities. RACV Club membership is available to anyone through a nomination process and full details about how to become an RACV Club member are available on the RACV website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.