We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay right in the center of Melbourne city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
Save
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list
Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay right in the center of Melbourne city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here on our wedding anniversary. This place has the ambience of a club house as it brings back memory of early Melbourne city life. The restaurants in the club house serve excellent food and is not overpriced. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The advantage of this hotel is its location. Everything in the city including central business district, entertainment areas, sport centers, university, shopping centers, city trams and railways station are within walking distance. There is no luxury here but it is very comfortable and clean. We had two memorable nights here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
29
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and always request Bourke St so I can look down on the trams. The other day I booked for a Tuesday night, and the clerk suggested that I get early check-in as they don't have many rooms full on a Monday night.

I arrived early on the Tuesday and the desk gave me early check-in. I thought this was nice of them, although I didn't really need it as I was going to be out most of the day. Imagine my disappointment to see the room. Room 302 has no view of Bourke St and looks out over the roof. I spoke to the desk about it later in the day, and the response was 'Well you asked for Bourke St.'

I also checked the breakfast list the next day and found that there were plently of unused rooms on floor 3 as well. So I thought that assigning me this room was pretty poor all in all.

The interior of the room was as usual very nice. I agree with another reviewer about the coffee at breakfast - a latte would be nice.

Another tip for breakfast. The wait staff seem to want to cram you in like sardines. Just ask for another table a bit further away from the hussle and bussle.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 301 and 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel never fails to satisfy for regular business trips to Melbourne city.

The rooms are large and comfortable, with huge beds and baths. I actually look forward to the baths here, as they're so large and comfortable.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for both business and shopping, and is always my first choice for any trip here, as you always know that you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the racv club long weekend. Room was nice, clean with a king bed. Staff and service were impeccable. The buffet breakfast was awesome. The only little criticism is that expresso coffee not included in buffet. Most hotels of racv standard include this. Overall very nice experience

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbost
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

RACV club Melbourne is a home away from home. Being from the country we are always looking for good quality accommodation in the CBD. We had a beautiful furnished and clean room on level 6. The breakfast was fantastic with a wide variety of hot/ cold foods. And the service throughout our stay was first class from reception, to breakfast to the valet parking. Although not a cheap place to stay in the CBD I would still highly recommend the RACV club for anyone looking for CBD accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is always nice to return to Melbourne and revisit our beautiful Club. As always, there was plenty of action in the main drag of the Burke St Lobby and it more or less inspired me to stay for dinner. I was greeted by the Host wearing a vest shortly after I presented my self in front of the "please wait to be seated" sign. It was shortly after 7pm and I was led to banker seating zone just behind concierge. It must have been the eye of the storm because as I distracted my self with their vegetarian options, the section filled to the rim with out notice. My Veggie burger was nice but I am saddened to report that there was a variety of service short falls. The table next to me ordered 5 minutes after I did and their order consisted of a normal burger and a Veggie burger - much to my obvious disappointment, their order came in FIRST, considering they had to cook a meat burger which I assume and according to standard must be cooked well done! When I questioned my server - she and the two Supervisors on the floor knew exactly that there was something wrong. To keep me at ease, the waiter came back to me and said that the kitchen was just plating my order and that it should arrive in a moment...5 minutes later - my order arrived ( the longest plating effort in gastronomical history). I could sense that there is a misbalance in the heart of house as the delay for my order was never made clear to me. I then moved up to the wine bar and ordered a green tea and much to my surprise, I found an entire world of bliss with attentive service in a less stressing environment. What a delight this was - the bar tender was a worldly girl from New Castle NSW and worked that bar with passion and with the true meaning of service. Thank you very much for restoring my faith back to my beloved club. It is not often I visit as I reside permanently abroad, but when I do return, I alway cherish my experiences at the RACV.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

An excellent dining room with a great selection and delicious food. Perfect place for a business lunch. The wait staff are incredibly good - every one of them. Lunch special included a seared atlantic salmon fillet with soba noodles - excellent. I'm thinking I better join this club. Too good to have in your own backyard and not use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Address: Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RACV City Club is one of two outstanding RACV Club properties and is conveniently positioned in the heart of Melbourne's CBD at 501 Bourke Street. For an overnight stay, a weekend away, a short break or a holiday, the City Club has a range of accommodation options to suit your needs. There are 136 large and spacious rooms including suites, family suites, doubles, twins and interconnecting rooms for families. A full buffet breakfast, free internet and valet car parking is included in room rates. The impressive RACV City Club caters for the social, leisure and business needs of all Club members. A range of stylish dining venues and entertainment options make the City Club the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or to enjoy a coffee, social drink, business lunch or intimate dinner. Membership of the private RACV Club is separate to other types of RACV membership, which can include RACV Emergency Roadside Assistance and RACV Insurance. Only members of the private RACV Club can book accommodation at the RACV City or Healesville properties. RACV Club members pay an annual membership fee which enables members to book accommodation for themselves, their family, friends and guests at both RACV Club locations and to access a range of other Club dining, lifestyle and recreation facilities. RACV Club membership is available to anyone through a nomination process and full details about how to become an RACV Club member are available on the RACV website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.