We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Bar and Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wine Bar and Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is always nice to return to Melbourne and revisit our beautiful Club. As always, there was plenty of action in the main drag of the Burke St Lobby and it more or less inspired me to stay for dinner. I was greeted by the Host wearing a vest shortly after I presented my self in front of the "please wait to be seated" sign. It was shortly after 7pm and I was led to banker seating zone just behind concierge. It must have been the eye of the storm because as I distracted my self with their vegetarian options, the section filled to the rim with out notice. My Veggie burger was nice but I am saddened to report that there was a variety of service short falls. The table next to me ordered 5 minutes after I did and their order consisted of a normal burger and a Veggie burger - much to my obvious disappointment, their order came in FIRST, considering they had to cook a meat burger which I assume and according to standard must be cooked well done! When I questioned my server - she and the two Supervisors on the floor knew exactly that there was something wrong. To keep me at ease, the waiter came back to me and said that the kitchen was just plating my order and that it should arrive in a moment...5 minutes later - my order arrived ( the longest plating effort in gastronomical history). I could sense that there is a misbalance in the heart of house as the delay for my order was never made clear to me. I then moved up to the wine bar and ordered a green tea and much to my surprise, I found an entire world of bliss with attentive service in a less stressing environment. What a delight this was - the bar tender was a worldly girl from New Castle NSW and worked that bar with passion and with the true meaning of service. Thank you very much for restoring my faith back to my beloved club. It is not often I visit as I reside permanently abroad, but when I do return, I alway cherish my experiences at the RACV.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

An excellent dining room with a great selection and delicious food. Perfect place for a business lunch. The wait staff are incredibly good - every one of them. Lunch special included a seared atlantic salmon fillet with soba noodles - excellent. I'm thinking I better join this club. Too good to have in your own backyard and not use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a special function at the RACV City Club this weekend and decided to stay the night in a retreat room. All I can say is this club has really got it right, everything from the guy who met us at check-in to the wait staff in the restaurant were just fabulous. The rooms having everything including a bed that is just heavenly to sleep in, great in room facilities, very quiet and dark for sleeping. As we had a room in the retreat area we had access to the lounge that served canapés and drinks from 5.30 to 7.30PM each night, all day coffee and tea and continental breakfast. If you want a room in central Melbourne with free parking and great amenities this is the place to come.

Room Tip: Book early the rooms fill quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were spending a couple of days in the city and due to location, car parking and all round attention to detail we decided to stay at the RACV City Club. Coffee was enjoyed in the lounge downstairs, in that area there was availability to charge my iPhone due to not bringing my charger.
Rooms are extremely comfortable, and our breakfast was exceptional.
The facilities available for guests include a library, gym, and another lounge available for a quiet cuppa and catch up.
For those who like Tripe, the RACV club have a Tripe Club which as lunches with guest speakers four times a year.

Room Tip: Even though we chose a room facing the street it was quieter than being at the back due to air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Who could fault this place, superb large rooms with all the facilities that the RACV Club has to offer. The Bistro and Conservatory restaurant provide gourmet food at very reasonable prices. staffing levels are very high and service is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Top Contributor
1,100 reviews 1,100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
859 helpful votes 859 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The RACV City Club is a modern 5 star club offering luxurious accommodation, a wide range of dining choices, a well equipped gym and excellent business facilities.

The accommodation rooms are stylish and comfortable.

On my most recent stay, I had a room in the 8th floor 'Retreat', where they offer butler service, as well as an evening cocktail hour. It's a good way to socialise with other guests.

The dining options include the ground floor bistro (excellent breakfast buffet), the formal dining room, or the buffet at the Conservatory: remarkable value at AUD 15 for lunch.

The Business Centre is very helpful.

The staff are helpful, professional and friendly.

This is a superb place to stay, and well located in the CBD, with a tram stop nearby- very helpful for getting around in Melbourne.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 8th floor Retreat offers additional facilities and butler service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the spotless, spacious, well-appointed rooms with huge showers in outsized, gleaming bathrooms, to the hushed corridors, speedy lifts, comfortable dining facilities and roomy, friendly gym with big, four-lane lap pool, to the smooth and courteous service, this place is the business traveller's bee's knees. Free wifi with great bandwidth and instant connection, plus generous in-room desk .... There's no better business accommodation. The buffet breakfast beats more exclusive accommodation hands-down. I'm picky ... but I couldn't fault this place. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Address: 501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list