We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent CBD accommodation for the business or leisure traveller- offering exceptional value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide Australia
Top Contributor
1,080 reviews 1,080 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
830 helpful votes 830 helpful votes
“Excellent CBD accommodation for the business or leisure traveller- offering exceptional value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The RACV City Club is a modern 5 star club offering luxurious accommodation, a wide range of dining choices, a well equipped gym and excellent business facilities.

The accommodation rooms are stylish and comfortable.

On my most recent stay, I had a room in the 8th floor 'Retreat', where they offer butler service, as well as an evening cocktail hour. It's a good way to socialise with other guests.

The dining options include the ground floor bistro (excellent breakfast buffet), the formal dining room, or the buffet at the Conservatory: remarkable value at AUD 15 for lunch.

The Business Centre is very helpful.

The staff are helpful, professional and friendly.

This is a superb place to stay, and well located in the CBD, with a tram stop nearby- very helpful for getting around in Melbourne.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 8th floor Retreat offers additional facilities and butler service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the spotless, spacious, well-appointed rooms with huge showers in outsized, gleaming bathrooms, to the hushed corridors, speedy lifts, comfortable dining facilities and roomy, friendly gym with big, four-lane lap pool, to the smooth and courteous service, this place is the business traveller's bee's knees. Free wifi with great bandwidth and instant connection, plus generous in-room desk .... There's no better business accommodation. The buffet breakfast beats more exclusive accommodation hands-down. I'm picky ... but I couldn't fault this place. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the best spot to stay in Melbourne, it has got to be better than any other 5 star hotel and teh food and drink selection is excellent.
As a business traveller the WIFI and use opf offices gives you a great base and a professional place to meet business colleagues.
The rooms are first class and you can walk easily to Flinders and southern cross stations

Room Tip: Less noise up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

After staying at the RACV for business and pleasure over a number of years, I thought I ought to share this Melbourne "secret" with others. Located perfectly for business in the CBD, it is also a leisurely 15 minute stroll of Flinders St Station, Crown Casino, and downtown shopping. Although mid-priced, the size of the rooms (with walk in wardrobe, and bathroom with bath and separate shower) makes the RACV fabulous value. My rate of around A$260 per night included breakfast, valet parking and wifi. The room service menu is fairly small, but with the relevant range of "staples" and all prepared in the bistro with care. The reception and hospitality personnel are efficient, friendly and professional which is refreshing. For the single traveller, the RACV feels particularly welcoming and secure, with 24 hr door attendants and quiet rooms. For the discerning traveller, it definitely offers a home away from home experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here at Xmas. It was lovely, but at times I was definitely on the younger side of the guests! I think they need to work out how to market to people in their 30's bc it is a fab place, but not that happening!!

Rooms were fabulous, pool clean, staff a pleasure & food and service almost entirely fabulous. We had one incident one night when we dined at the grill restaurant, which requires a collar for the men. Fine. But then the food took over 1.5hrs to come out, was ordinary and having made my brother change for the dinner, felt a bit pretentious given how poor the service was that night. However, it was the only glitch on an otherwise lovely 6 days there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We are members of the RAC in Sydney & really enjoy staying at the RACV in Melbourne. It is in a great location, the rooms are spacious, well appointed & very clean & well serviced. The restaurant downstairs is very convenient & good especially for breakfast. Our only negative experience with otherwise excellent staff was an amazingly rude staff member in the lounge when we had guests call in for a drink. She was totally out of line.
Otherwise it was a very good visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Member of this city club for 23 years. Excellent facility , accommodation tops in a central location in the heart of the major shopping centre.Plenty of places to eat within the RACV- my pick is the 'Conservatory"-wide selection of food at realistic prices.Enjoyable experience if you want a 'place away from home' for a few nights R&R.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are cheaper and have all you need- level 3, side passage areas great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel
Address: 501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list