We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the spotless, spacious, well-appointed rooms with huge showers in outsized, gleaming bathrooms, to the hushed corridors, speedy lifts, comfortable dining facilities and roomy, friendly gym with big, four-lane lap pool, to the smooth and courteous service, this place is the business traveller's bee's knees. Free wifi with great bandwidth and instant connection, plus generous in-room desk .... There's no better business accommodation. The buffet breakfast beats more exclusive accommodation hands-down. I'm picky ... but I couldn't fault this place. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the best spot to stay in Melbourne, it has got to be better than any other 5 star hotel and teh food and drink selection is excellent.
As a business traveller the WIFI and use opf offices gives you a great base and a professional place to meet business colleagues.
The rooms are first class and you can walk easily to Flinders and southern cross stations

Room Tip: Less noise up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

After staying at the RACV for business and pleasure over a number of years, I thought I ought to share this Melbourne "secret" with others. Located perfectly for business in the CBD, it is also a leisurely 15 minute stroll of Flinders St Station, Crown Casino, and downtown shopping. Although mid-priced, the size of the rooms (with walk in wardrobe, and bathroom with bath and separate shower) makes the RACV fabulous value. My rate of around A$260 per night included breakfast, valet parking and wifi. The room service menu is fairly small, but with the relevant range of "staples" and all prepared in the bistro with care. The reception and hospitality personnel are efficient, friendly and professional which is refreshing. For the single traveller, the RACV feels particularly welcoming and secure, with 24 hr door attendants and quiet rooms. For the discerning traveller, it definitely offers a home away from home experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here at Xmas. It was lovely, but at times I was definitely on the younger side of the guests! I think they need to work out how to market to people in their 30's bc it is a fab place, but not that happening!!

Rooms were fabulous, pool clean, staff a pleasure & food and service almost entirely fabulous. We had one incident one night when we dined at the grill restaurant, which requires a collar for the men. Fine. But then the food took over 1.5hrs to come out, was ordinary and having made my brother change for the dinner, felt a bit pretentious given how poor the service was that night. However, it was the only glitch on an otherwise lovely 6 days there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We are members of the RAC in Sydney & really enjoy staying at the RACV in Melbourne. It is in a great location, the rooms are spacious, well appointed & very clean & well serviced. The restaurant downstairs is very convenient & good especially for breakfast. Our only negative experience with otherwise excellent staff was an amazingly rude staff member in the lounge when we had guests call in for a drink. She was totally out of line.
Otherwise it was a very good visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Member of this city club for 23 years. Excellent facility , accommodation tops in a central location in the heart of the major shopping centre.Plenty of places to eat within the RACV- my pick is the 'Conservatory"-wide selection of food at realistic prices.Enjoyable experience if you want a 'place away from home' for a few nights R&R.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are cheaper and have all you need- level 3, side passage areas great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The RACV club offers large airy rooms all with opening windows, valet parking and probably the best Buffett breakfast in town. Quiet , comfortable and centrally located. The pool , sauna, steam room and spa are clean and well maintained as is the adjoining gym. The are both supported by large change rooms and unobtrusive staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Address: 501 Burke St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list