We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury accommodation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
Save Saved
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list
501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fantastic city accommodation,well positioned in Burke street, walking distance to casino,South Bank and city centre. Rooms are luxurious,big and very comfortable,nice big bath tubs for relaxing after a long day of shopping. Plenty of eating options with the bistro offering a great well priced menu, carvery Sunday fantastic and the seafood buffet OMG absolutely awesome, the deserts are mouth watering and the breakfast is so good, try to fit the gym and pool in if you can after all the eating, I can't recommend the racv city club enough,absolutely love returning here and would highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
26
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are RACV Club members and stay at the City Club whenever we are in Melbourne. the rooms are very spacious and comfortable with lovely bathrooms. Breakfast is always good-although I agree with a previous reviewer-it would be nice to have espresso coffe included in the breakfast tariff. Parking is great-just leave your car and the valets take care of it. We park the car when we arrive and then walk everywhere-its very conveniant.
One point to note--the rooms numbered 14>17 on each floor are smaller-2 have no window at all-just a light tunnel as they are on the internal corner and the other 2 only have half a window and an angled wall-making the room smaller.
The 11am checkout is great and breakfast now goes to 10.30-so you can have a sleep in!

Room Tip: Ask to not have an internal corner room--but they may not listen!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Great room. Comfy king bed . Powerful shower. l'occitaine toiletries. 50 inch TV. Free wifi. Walk in wardrobe helpful & frindly front desk staff . High ceiling gives an airy spacious feel What more could a travellling man ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We were booked in as a group, with the venue chosen by the organiser. The price tag of 170 dollars per head for dinner only seemed quite steep, but we looked forward to the gourmet food & free-flowing fine wines and cocktails. On arrival, the surroundings looked very grand. We were directed upstairs to where our pre-dinner drinks were served - in a corridor. A couple of glasses of mid range champagne later we were ushered into our private room for our 3-course set menu - no choice allowed & too bad if you didnt like what was on offer. Very slow & reluctant to fill up glasses with their very ordinary wines, and then the waiters just refused to serve our table. Very understaffed. Later in the evening there was only one waiter for 73 guests, not enough to give decent service in anyone's book.
If you want good food that gives at least reasonable value for money, go somewhere else. Might be a reasonable place for after work drinks in the downstairs bar as that at least has nice architecture.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As an RACV Club member who has used reciprocal clubs throughout the world the service, food facilities, location and parking are first class at the City Club. If you have reciprocal rights with the RACV Club use them even if you are not staying there. The coffee lounge, bistro and other food venues serve good quality food at affordable prices. If you want to lash out go to the Main Dining room where you will get excellent service and enjoy a meal and fine wine in first class surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
612 helpful votes 612 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here many times. Located in the heart of the city - it takes you back to a time when service was special and the customer was always right. Good rooms and within a close walk to just about everything - shops, restaurants, sport, transport etc.

Lovely spot for brekkie, and special restauarant - ie classy.

If you can't find it - ask - they are very helpful.

Room Tip: Look for specials on the net or ring the Club. Parking is very easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I recently stayed for the first time at the RACV City Club hotel in Melbourne. Our office is in close proximity and we use the hotel for corporate bookings.

I was positively surprised by the very attentive check-in staff, the friendly service, very comfortable beds, free wifi internet access and delicious buffet breakfast rounded out the great experience. My room was very quiet.

My only very minor suggestion would be to include espressos and other coffees in the price of the buffet breakfast.

I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Address: 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.