We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we have stayed so far!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Urban Central to your Saves list
Urban Central
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best place we have stayed so far!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Good place good location,
We stayed 6 nights in a 4 dorm which was ok execpt the heavy door banged everytime anyone went in or out which woke everyone up each time!
Had good tv areas and a bar downstairs which was fairly well priced
Local to coles aldi and wollworths and a short walk in to the city
Kitchen was well equppied
Only downfall was no free wi wifi amd the wifi u paid for was rubbish it never worked and it was $25 for a week!
Reception staff were nice and helpful
Id definately stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello, thanks for your great review of your stay with us at Urban Central. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, especially our location, our bar and friendly staff. Our room doors are self locking upon closing for extra security which may be the reason for the noise, I will be sure to pass this onto our maintenance department for you. I apologize that you had some issues with the WIFI, I will also make sure this is looked into. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    56
    29
    10
    17
See reviews for
7
28
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was completely blown away as I entered the room as it was really clean and bright, and just had a very simple design. The beds and toilet were relatively clean for a budget hotel and I would totally recommend it for backpackers looking for an affordable place to live in.
Next to the hostel there is McDonald's and this gas station? It is also pretty near to Melbourne Central and is definitely within walking distance.
On Friday nights however it'll be slightly noisier due to the bars downstairs. In the day it can also be a little noisy since it is right beside the highway but I'm not really affected by it.
The doors of the hostel, or at least my door, closes with a very loud sound and that bothered me a little.
The kitchen however was not very well equipped as I could not find a cup for my drink.

Overall I think this is a good hostel with a good location and the rooms are very nice and cozy. (:

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of Urban Central. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our clean rooms and our central location. I am sorry to hear that the doors were a bit of a disturbance for you. For extra security, our doors are self locking upon closing so that could possibly be the reason for the noise. I will have maintenance look into this for you. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards, the team at Urban Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in May 2013 and had a great experience! Was in a mixed 4 bed dorm and although our room faced the street, with the windows closed it was super quiet. You can hear people in the halls but usually people are respectful & quiet at night. Entry into the building and elevators all require key cards which was a nice feature. Each level has something different to it (library, tv room, etc...). The kitchen had plenty of stove tops for cooking. Free pasta & rice daily as well as toast & jam for brekkie and coffee.
The bar was cheap and there was plenty of activities to do during the evenings there as well as bootcamp during the week. Clean sheets and a nice comforter. Towels included as well.
The staff were very helpful & friendly! Such a great hostel experience! Would recommend this place to everyone!
Location wasn't anything exciting, but it's close to the City Rd tram and only a few stops to the CBD. Free transit if you stay in Zone 1. Didn't purchase internet as I heard it was expensive, so we just went across the street to McDonalds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello, Thanks for such a positive review of your stay at Urban Central. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and the events in our bar. I will be sure to also pass on your kind words about our staff to the whole team. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

room was clean and comfortable, as it was quite quiet i was put in a 6 bed dorm which i had all to myself. great :) however as only my and the staff had the keys i was extremely angered to find that upon my return to the room after a day out, all of my stuff had gone!!!!!!!!!!! i found 1 item in the lost property. and that was it. the staff were rude and didnt seem to care at all. extremely unhelpful . security is awful, customer service abissmal. dont stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

As you will see from other posts on this site, we take our reviews very seriously. I notice You stayed with us nearly one year ago. Unfortunately, we cannot find your reservation even though we have only one 6 bed room in our venue

We would like to research the service you received in more detail but we need more information. To assist, please contact me at kking@urbancentral.com.au. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Stayed in worse 4 star hotels. Room private double really nice! Definately recommend!!! Great central location. Have to pay for wifi though! Airport shuttle also excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello, Thanks for your kind review of Urban Central. I am glad you enjoyed your time here and think so highly of our venue. I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There were 3 of us staying in Melbourne, and it was literally a last minute booking. I called Thursday morning to book for Friday and Saturday night, and the staff member on the phone was incredibly helpful and professional. We wanted to be sure we'd be all together, so we booked a family room for $125 a night (divided by three it works out to approx $41 each). It was only slightly more than we'd normally pay for a hostel stay, and boy were we glad we did! Our room felt like a hotel room. As soon as we stepped in, we were met with a spacious room with a king bed and comfortable bunk bed. The bed was comfortable, beautifully dressed and came with towels - normally a rare luxury for a hostel. Not only did we have a king bed, we had a private and modern ensuite, tea and coffee making facilities and a TV!
Our stay was comfortable, the building's secure swipe card access made us feel safe, and the staff were so professional and friendly. Not only that, the room was very quiet, despite the fact that we were on a busy road. Not only have I recommended this place to everyone I know, I am planning another stay in June!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of Urban Central Accommodation. It was wonderful to read your comments, especially about how much you enjoyed our private rooms. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

this is a very professional hostel, well run and organized. its clean and well laid out and has excellent if slightly expensive facilities. rooms a bit on the warm side and are noisy due to its location by a busy road. st kilda is accessible as is the south bank. bit expensive but does include breakfast and is worth the money rather than staying in some of the other awful hostels in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time at Urban Central. Thank you very much for your positive review, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Urban Central again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Central 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.