We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Urban Central to your Saves list
Urban Central
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There were 3 of us staying in Melbourne, and it was literally a last minute booking. I called Thursday morning to book for Friday and Saturday night, and the staff member on the phone was incredibly helpful and professional. We wanted to be sure we'd be all together, so we booked a family room for $125 a night (divided by three it works out to approx $41 each). It was only slightly more than we'd normally pay for a hostel stay, and boy were we glad we did! Our room felt like a hotel room. As soon as we stepped in, we were met with a spacious room with a king bed and comfortable bunk bed. The bed was comfortable, beautifully dressed and came with towels - normally a rare luxury for a hostel. Not only did we have a king bed, we had a private and modern ensuite, tea and coffee making facilities and a TV!
Our stay was comfortable, the building's secure swipe card access made us feel safe, and the staff were so professional and friendly. Not only that, the room was very quiet, despite the fact that we were on a busy road. Not only have I recommended this place to everyone I know, I am planning another stay in June!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of Urban Central Accommodation. It was wonderful to read your comments, especially about how much you enjoyed our private rooms. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    30
    11
    17
See reviews for
8
31
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

this is a very professional hostel, well run and organized. its clean and well laid out and has excellent if slightly expensive facilities. rooms a bit on the warm side and are noisy due to its location by a busy road. st kilda is accessible as is the south bank. bit expensive but does include breakfast and is worth the money rather than staying in some of the other awful hostels in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time at Urban Central. Thank you very much for your positive review, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Urban Central again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I can't really think of anything wrong with Urban Central. The staff on front desk are incredibly friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome upon arrival.
The rooms are very clean and the fact that they are 4-bed dorms means that one gets enough privacy and enough sleep in them! The individual reading lights were a definite bonus and the air-con made all the difference during the hot nights!
I loved the free breakfast in the mornings as it saved us a lot of money, as did the free pasta and rice which was available all day long. This brings me to my next point; the kitchen. Constantly clean and very efficient, with enough working hobs and equipment to mean one never had to wait to cook, the facilities were second to none.
The bar itself was a nice place to chill out in during the day and though packed at night, the noise barely made it past the bar doors, let alone anywhere near the rooms!
Highly recommended, especially for the price, but book ahead of time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
It was fantastic to read that you would recommend Urban Central. I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our free breakfast and free pasta and the air conditioning during those warm Melbourne nights. We thank you for your support of Urban Central and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were quite amazed to find the hotel room so clean and comfortable and although overlooking a major road, it was very quiet. Pleasant stay...would consider staying here again as it was also very central.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello, Thanks very much for your kind review of Urban Central. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our private rooms. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Urban Central one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is rather a hotel complex than a hostel, but the price is so good! We had a 4 bed dorm which was great, because the beds are arranged in such a way that everyone has some privacy. The individual reading lights are also good. Well tought of. Unfortunately, the aircon was so loud that we couldnt use it, so we slept with open windows (big street outside) which was less noise. The bathrooms were kept clean, which is a tough job when you see all the youngsters that are not old enough to put their make up tissues in the garbage bin.

The free breakfast was juice, toast and cereal, but sufficient. They were always short of cups though, I wonder if people just took them to the rooms and forgot. The bar downstairs was good, as it kept the noise down at the other levels.

The kitchen is well organized and there are people that make sure that it stays clean. Good plus: Free pasta and rice every day.

We also liked the travel agent downstairs, who had good deals. BIG MINUS: The wifi was so expensive that we didnt even bother to buy credit. Just go next door to Mc Donalds or downtown (free wifi). With so many guests they could easily set up their own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello, Thanks very much for your kind review of Urban Central. I am glad you enjoyed our rooms, the price, our free breakfast and the travel agent. I have passed on your issues with the Air conditioning to our Maintenance department to have fixed. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The one thing I have to mention first are the very friendly and helpful staff - quick to jump on anything reported and there are always staff keeping the kitchens clean. The room was big and all had huge lockers with power points. The kitchen was large and the shower blocks/toilets were all clean and well maintained. Not quite as sociable as the other hostel I stayed in unless you stayed in the bar or dining area. Other than that, free pasta, rice, breakfast and condiments which you can't argue with! I guess it offsets the WiFi price but being conveniently across the road from mc D's (free WiFi) you could just pop over, order a coffee and use theirs. I enjoyed my short stay there but I guess it's down to luck of the draw with who you share a room with! Recommended for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Urban Central. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and made the most of our free offers. I will pass on your kind words to our staff. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks over Christmas and new year and really enjoyed myself. If your like me and the one thing you care most about in a hostel is the cleanliness then this is the place for you as its absolutley spotless! Its very big and has lots of people staying but is very well run by staff. Bar downstairs is good craic aswel! When our aircon broke it was fixed within a few hours. Only complaint is that nearly everything we bought from the supermarket was stolen even though it was bagged and labelled! Shame really do not understand why travellers steal from other travellers when they know how annoying it is. Other than that its a great hostel and great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello, thanks for your review of Urban Central. Its great to hear you had such a good time staying with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Central 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.