We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, but no atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Central

Save Saved
You added Urban Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Urban Central
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good price, but no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is rather a hotel complex than a hostel, but the price is so good! We had a 4 bed dorm which was great, because the beds are arranged in such a way that everyone has some privacy. The individual reading lights are also good. Well tought of. Unfortunately, the aircon was so loud that we couldnt use it, so we slept with open windows (big street outside) which was less noise. The bathrooms were kept clean, which is a tough job when you see all the youngsters that are not old enough to put their make up tissues in the garbage bin.

The free breakfast was juice, toast and cereal, but sufficient. They were always short of cups though, I wonder if people just took them to the rooms and forgot. The bar downstairs was good, as it kept the noise down at the other levels.

The kitchen is well organized and there are people that make sure that it stays clean. Good plus: Free pasta and rice every day.

We also liked the travel agent downstairs, who had good deals. BIG MINUS: The wifi was so expensive that we didnt even bother to buy credit. Just go next door to Mc Donalds or downtown (free wifi). With so many guests they could easily set up their own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello, Thanks very much for your kind review of Urban Central. I am glad you enjoyed our rooms, the price, our free breakfast and the travel agent. I have passed on your issues with the Air conditioning to our Maintenance department to have fixed. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    47
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
25
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The one thing I have to mention first are the very friendly and helpful staff - quick to jump on anything reported and there are always staff keeping the kitchens clean. The room was big and all had huge lockers with power points. The kitchen was large and the shower blocks/toilets were all clean and well maintained. Not quite as sociable as the other hostel I stayed in unless you stayed in the bar or dining area. Other than that, free pasta, rice, breakfast and condiments which you can't argue with! I guess it offsets the WiFi price but being conveniently across the road from mc D's (free WiFi) you could just pop over, order a coffee and use theirs. I enjoyed my short stay there but I guess it's down to luck of the draw with who you share a room with! Recommended for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Urban Central. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and made the most of our free offers. I will pass on your kind words to our staff. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks over Christmas and new year and really enjoyed myself. If your like me and the one thing you care most about in a hostel is the cleanliness then this is the place for you as its absolutley spotless! Its very big and has lots of people staying but is very well run by staff. Bar downstairs is good craic aswel! When our aircon broke it was fixed within a few hours. Only complaint is that nearly everything we bought from the supermarket was stolen even though it was bagged and labelled! Shame really do not understand why travellers steal from other travellers when they know how annoying it is. Other than that its a great hostel and great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello, thanks for your review of Urban Central. Its great to hear you had such a good time staying with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I didn't have a booking when I arrived . the staff has been very polite, helpful and tried to accomodate me. I stayed there for 2 nights and I enjoyed my stay. It not too noisy even though there is a bar on site. I could not hear anything from my dorm . The dorms have 4 beds only, so they're not overcrowded . there are big lockers that can fit suitcases and enough space on the room to put them on the floor.
I had a share bathroom which was clean and had enough showers , I never had to queue.

The hostel offers free breakfast. I liked it because there is no hassle of buying everygthing for just 2 nights. But the hostel is so big, that there are lots of guests all having breakfast at the same time. I found it difficult to get hold of a tea cup, toasting my bread and doing the dishes . I just went to Macdonalds accross the street on my second morning , to also use the Free WiFi (which the hostel does not offer).

The hostel is located 5 min away from the Crown Complex ( Casino, bars, shopping mall), 10 min away from the Southern Cross train station and 15 min from Federation square. I walked everywhere, it's easy to get around .

I would recommand this hostel : clean but very big, too many people going around. I like smaller places where it's easier to socialise. I would not stay there for a long term

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Urban Central. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast and thought highly of our central location. All the best on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and the room was nice. This wasnt the place for me though. I checked in shortly after 7 pm and guests were drinking everywhere. There is a sign that says no outside alcohol but people were just using holders. The average age seemed to be early twenties which is ok. Add alcohol and lots of people i felt quite out of place in my thirties though my room mates were older too. The room was quieter than i expected. Breakfast was mayhem just cause there are so many people at the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Urban Central. I will pass on your kind words to our staff about their service. Our bar can get quite busy on the weekends but we do have security around the venue to make sure everyone is having a good time. I will also pass on these comments to our Bar Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in a 4 bed dorm. Other peoples cleanliness made the room look messy and untidy on arrival. Bed frame was very dusty and the metal wardrobes are noisy, very unsightly and were filthy. Bathrooms are good with hot powerful showers. Bar downstairs is cool and well priced and quiet (free water is good). Kitchen was well equipt with lots of storage although fridges wernt cold enough and milk went sour quickly. Good to see pasta and rice was free and basic breakfasts in morning. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Location is a little out of the city centre (15mns walk). Our main problem was the internet prices, both computers and wi-fi. $4 dollars an hour on computer and similar prices just for wi-fi is far to much compared to other places that offer free wi-fi throughout the building. As we used the internet alot we were paying an extra $48 a week to use the internet during a week which is disgusting!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review of Urban Central.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the bathrooms, hot showers, our bar, and the free breakfast and free rice and pasta.

In regards to the maintenance issues you have mentioned, we have passed that on and will make sure these issues are fixed immediatly.

Again, thanks for taking the time to review, and hopefully we will see you again one day.

Thanks
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The urban central is a really good hostel. There are 4-bed dorms in the whole hostel and its really clean. They clean the rooms every morning and the rooms are big and bright. The hostel even provides towels. The kitchen facilities are also very good and big and you really feel comfortable when you cook cus everything is clean and tidy. Really nice hostel staff as well. The hostel is 10 minutes from the city centre away.
The only bad thing was the expensive wifi so we always had to go to the mcdonalds on the other side of the hostel to have wifi.
I would really recommend this hostel as its nearly as good as a hotel! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review of Urban Central. Im glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here one day soon.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards,
The team at Urban Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne
Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Urban Central 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.