We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I you like party and lots of people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Central

Save Saved
You added Urban Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Central
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“I you like party and lots of people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and the room was nice. This wasnt the place for me though. I checked in shortly after 7 pm and guests were drinking everywhere. There is a sign that says no outside alcohol but people were just using holders. The average age seemed to be early twenties which is ok. Add alcohol and lots of people i felt quite out of place in my thirties though my room mates were older too. The room was quieter than i expected. Breakfast was mayhem just cause there are so many people at the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Urban Central. I will pass on your kind words to our staff about their service. Our bar can get quite busy on the weekends but we do have security around the venue to make sure everyone is having a good time. I will also pass on these comments to our Bar Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    28
    10
    16
See reviews for
7
26
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in a 4 bed dorm. Other peoples cleanliness made the room look messy and untidy on arrival. Bed frame was very dusty and the metal wardrobes are noisy, very unsightly and were filthy. Bathrooms are good with hot powerful showers. Bar downstairs is cool and well priced and quiet (free water is good). Kitchen was well equipt with lots of storage although fridges wernt cold enough and milk went sour quickly. Good to see pasta and rice was free and basic breakfasts in morning. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Location is a little out of the city centre (15mns walk). Our main problem was the internet prices, both computers and wi-fi. $4 dollars an hour on computer and similar prices just for wi-fi is far to much compared to other places that offer free wi-fi throughout the building. As we used the internet alot we were paying an extra $48 a week to use the internet during a week which is disgusting!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review of Urban Central.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the bathrooms, hot showers, our bar, and the free breakfast and free rice and pasta.

In regards to the maintenance issues you have mentioned, we have passed that on and will make sure these issues are fixed immediatly.

Again, thanks for taking the time to review, and hopefully we will see you again one day.

Thanks
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The urban central is a really good hostel. There are 4-bed dorms in the whole hostel and its really clean. They clean the rooms every morning and the rooms are big and bright. The hostel even provides towels. The kitchen facilities are also very good and big and you really feel comfortable when you cook cus everything is clean and tidy. Really nice hostel staff as well. The hostel is 10 minutes from the city centre away.
The only bad thing was the expensive wifi so we always had to go to the mcdonalds on the other side of the hostel to have wifi.
I would really recommend this hostel as its nearly as good as a hotel! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review of Urban Central. Im glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here one day soon.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards,
The team at Urban Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights due to a very last minute change of plans. The service at reception was atrocious when I first arrived, leaving me with a foul first impression as I had already had a terrible time getting there. These little things really make a difference! It is very much a flashpacker hostel; if you're not bothered about sharing a room with more than four people then this may not be your place. Also this hostel is NOT in the city centre but over the bridge into South Melbourne; it's a 15 minute walk to the southwest corner of the CBD, but I felt very misled as there are MUCH better located hostels for less money. It's also right next to a motorway, and the doors were an absolute pain to operate at first. So overall unhappy about that.
The facilities are however fantastic, nice thick duvet and strong AC, good showers (with annoying beeping timers) and by my 2nd night the staff were MUCH friendlier. Just about made up for it all, but not quite. The bar looked okay but is residents only so I found it a bit too quiet for my tastes.
Great if you're a big group that needs a bit of comfort, but for a solo backpacker like me I would look elsewhere.

Avoid any room ending in 22-25, those are closest to the motorway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us at Urban Central. It is unfortunate to hear about your experience with our staff on check in as we usually get great reviews about our staff.

Indeed we are located in Southbank. We are right around the corner from the Crown Casino, all the bars and restaurants on the river, the DFO and the Eureka Tower. Not only is there are tram right by us which goes right into the centre, we are also on the tram line to St Kilda and Port Melbourne so we believe we are in a great location and close to everything.

Im glad you enjoyed the Duvets and Airconditioning the rooms, the showers are great too (beeping in the showers are for the timers which we have installed to enviromentally save water).

Thanks again for taking the time to review Urban Central. If you would like to contact me with extra details about your experience, then I would be happy to discuss this with you futher. Our contact email is: stayplay@urbancentral.com.au.

Regards,
Katherine
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at Urban Central during December with a friend, booking a 4 bed dorm with bathroom. Over the Friday and Saturday night we were the only guests in the room so we scored a private for half the price!
The staff are welcoming and friendly and the feel of the hostel is 'homely'. They had a real christmas tree decorated in the foyer and a lounge room on every level with couches, a tv and book stands. The hostel was conveniently located near a McDonald, a Club, cafes and restaurants, a convenience store and within walking distace to a tram and Crown Casino. I felt safe with 24 hour reception and a swipe card to gain access to the building, lifts and your room. The rooms were very clean, bathroom was a good size and air con. Sizeable storage and free storage before checking in if you arrive early. Windows open in the rooms which was nice and soap was provided. Irons and hair dryers were available for free upon request. I am from Sydney and flew down for a girly weekend. For 40 dollars a night, this was a huge saving compared to staying at a hotel and we definetly enjoyed staying here! Urban Central Melbourne comes highly reccomended from me for all travellers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for your amazing review of Urban Central. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. I will pass on your kind comments to all of our staff. Hopefully we can welcome you back to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hostel is easily accessible, clean and the service is friendly. Might just be a bit overpacked at times. The bar in the basement is certainly good enough for a drink or two.

Of course you have to be ok with the concept of sharing a room with others.. when I stayed there I had a couple living in my dorm for a few weeks as they were in between job. The fact that they were living in this place as it was there flat was a bit weird but in general ok

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear MKger,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Urban Central regarding your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us here, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in Urban Central Backpackers. Everything in this HUGE hostel was super clean, there was even staff in the kitchen during the busy times to clean whatever other guests haven't cleaned after themselves. Hot showers with superb pressure, plenty of room (were in a 4 bed dorm with a window), large lockers in room are great idea (unfortunately the power outlet was only inside the locker). My only (small) complaints would be: Room doors are operated by a contactless card and the lock itself makes a terrible click everytime door is opened or closed (especially at night). Also breakfast can be a little chaotic (just wake up early and you'll be in the kitchen almost by yourself). The location requires a little walk to the city (12 min walk to reach the free city loop train) and note that the hostel is next to a freeway, so if you happen to be on that side of building, it may get noisy.

Room Tip: There is a pub on the ground floor so try to get to one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello, thanks for your review of Urban Central. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our friendly staff, hot showers and large rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to Urban Central should you come to Melbourne again.
Regards,
The team at Urban Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.